News Northern

Josh Green on top at Oulton as Team USA scholars shine in Northern qualifying

Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Josh Green qualified on pole position at a damp Oulton Park for the BRSCC Avon Tyres Formula Ford Northern Championship, as Team USA Scholarship drivers shone. 

Green deposed fellow USA Scholar and CDR team-mate Scott Huffaker at the head of the timesheets after an early red flag – caused by Ian Schofield and Andrew Thomas both spinning into the gravel – before setting a best time of 2m05.560s in the closing minutes.

Huffaker, who had led the session early on, ended up third fastest after a late effort from Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst secured him a front row spot, 0.5s behind Green.

Historic racer and car preparer Simon Hadfield secured Super Classic pole by setting the fourth fastest time overall in his Van Diemen.

Tom McArthur, who lies third in the championship, was fifth fastest for B-M Racing ahead of two-time Historic FF1600 champion Callum Grant and fellow Van Diemen driver Douglas Crosbie.

Championship leader Jack Wolfenden could only qualify in eighth position after suffering a misfire in his Firman with Julian Van Der Watt ninth in a Spectrum.

Davide Meloni rounded out the top ten for B-M Racing, while team-mate David McArthur ended up bottom of the timesheets after failing to post a lap time after his Medina suffered a clutch issue.

Super Classic points leader Schofield ended up 16th fastest after his early spin.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P Josh Green Ray 2m05.560s
2 P Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +0.538
3 P Scott Huffaker Ray +1.196
4 SC Simon Hadfield Van Diemen RF86 +1.215
5 P Tom McArthur Medina +1.413
6 SC Callum Grant Van Diemen RF91 +2.215
7 SC Douglas Crosbie Van Diemen RF89 +2.367
8 P Jack Wolfenden Firman +3.010
9 P Julian Van der Watt Mygale +3.309
10 P Davide Meloni Van Diemen +3.496
11 SC Peter Daly Van Diemen RF88 +5.321
12 P Neil McArthur Van Diemen +5.708
13 SC Nick Barnes Swift FB89 +7.343
14 P Andrew Thomas Mygale +8.929
15 SC Stuart Jones Reynard FF84 +10.208
16 SC Ian Schofield Reynard FF89 +14.162
17 SC Richard Ketterman Reynard RF86 +14.838
18 SC Colin Lawson Van Diemen RF80 +15.359
19 SC Seamus Wild Swift SC93F +17.215
20 SC Trevor Morgan Reynard FF88 +23.708
21 SC Simon Fraser Van Diemen RF85 +24.092
22 SC David McArthur Medina no time

0 comments on “Josh Green on top at Oulton as Team USA scholars shine in Northern qualifying

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: