500 MRCI News

David McCullough wins Northern Irish title as brother Ivor dominates

David McCullough won the Dawson WAM Northern Irish FF1600 title with two third places in the penultimate round at Kirkistown.

His brother Ivor, a winner of the championship multiple times, was the man to beat all weekend and took two wins, a pole and two fastest laps.

Ivor’s expansive circuit experience showed in qualifying, taking pole by 0.181 seconds from fellow champion Alan Davidson while running the fewest number of laps.

David was only fifth fastest, but passed Ian Campbell on the first lap and then moved into a podium position when Will Herron retired. While he couldn’t catch the top two, finishing third left him one point from the title.

Debuting FF1600 team Vertical Racing finished fourth with Formula Sheane champion David Parks, just beating Noel Robinson.

Stefan Donnelly, son of former Formula 1 racer Martin, was seventh in a Crossle 32F complete with a replica livery of one his father once used.

Davidson and Ivor McCullough once again disputed victory in race two, with the latter coming out on top by a scant 0.103s.

David McCullough looked certain for third until he was passed by a charging Herron, but he reclaimed the place on the last lap by 0.028s and met the chequered flag as the 2019 champion.

Scott Finlay finished a distant fifth, while Parks held off team-mate Ian Campbell for sixth.

Results round-up

Race one
Pos Driver Car Gap
1 Ivor McCullough Van Diemen 13 laps
2 Alan Davidson Mondiale +1.444
3 David McCullough Van Diemen +7.409
4 David Parks Ray +18.867
5 Noel Robinson Van Diemen +18.945
6 Andrew Blair Reynard +24.553
7 Scott Finlay Van Diemen +32.100
8 Stefan Donnelly Crossle +34.735
9 Allan McBurney Van Diemen +34.789
10 Henry Campbell Reynard +36.870
Pole: I McCullough, 1:01.746      Fastest lap: I McCullough, 1:01.324

Race two
Pos Driver Car Gap
1 I McCullough Van Diemen 13 laps
2 Davidson Mondiale +0.103
3 D McCullough Van Diemen +4.857
4 Will Herron Van Diemen +4.885
5 Finlay Van Diemen +13.647
6 Parks Ray +17.035
7 Ian Campbell Ray +17.250
8 Blair Reynard +26.181
9 Donnelly Crossle +28.305
10 McBurney Van Diemen +28.366
FL: I McCullough, 1:01.527
Championship standings
1 D McCullough 235   2 Davidson 196   3 I McCullough 157   4 Herron 123   5 Blair 77   6 Finlay 64   7 David Nicholl 54   8 H Campbell 50   9 McBurney 36   10 Cameron Fenton 35

0 comments on “David McCullough wins Northern Irish title as brother Ivor dominates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: