BRSCC National News

Eastwell wins an action packed race in the wet at Brands Hatch

Michael Eastwell took the win in an action-packed BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 race in the wet at Brands Hatch.

Eastwell got away off the line better than pole-sitter Luke Cooper and took the lead going into Paddock Hill Bend. Next time round though Cooper had regained the lead, which he held until lap five of 17 when a slide from the Swift Cooper driver allowed Eastwell in the Kevin Mills Racing machine to take the lead again.

From here Eastwell was able to hold onto the position to take his third National FF1600 win of the season.

Cooper had to hold off pressure from third placed Rory Smith during the second half of the race, but secured second place with 0.423s separating him and Eastwell at the chequered flag.

The safety car was deployed with 8 minutes left on the clock when the newly crowned club champion John Svensson and Max Marzorati tangled and ended up in the gravel at the top of Paddock Hill Bend.

James Clarke was the first of the Cliff Dempsey Racing drivers in fourth place, crucial for the third in championship battle, whilst team-mates Spike Kohlbecker and Jonathan Browne finished sixth and tenth respectively.

Kohlbecker had been involved a battle with Chris Middlehurst after the race restart, but contact between the two resulted in Middlehurst going off track at Druids and a late retirement from the race.

Joey Foster recovered from yesterday’s disappointment to finish the race fifth despite running off the track when the rain restarted.

Kenny Cowie started at the back of the grid after a retirement in race one yesterday but recovered to finish seventh, the first of the club championship racers.

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum 20m17.239
2 Pro Luke Cooper Swift +0.423
3 Pro Rory Smith Medina +1.105
4 Pro James Clarke Ray +1.900
5 Pro Joey Foster Firman +3.298
6 Pro Spike Kohlbecker Ray +5.353
7 CM Kenny Cowie Mygale +9.446
8 Pro Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +10.110
9 Pro Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +11.605
10 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +18.107
11 CM Pascal Monbaron Ray +18.626
12 CM Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +22.596
13 Pro Michael Macpherson Spectrum +22.720
14 Pro Scott Huntley Spectrum +36.352
DNF Pro Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen
DNF CM John Svensson Van Diemen
DNF CM Max Marsorati Van Diemen

0 comments on “Eastwell wins an action packed race in the wet at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: