BRSCC National News

Luke Cooper wins from pole position in race one at Brands Hatch

Luke Cooper converted his pole position to a race win in his first BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 outing of 2019 despite pressure from Joey Foster and Rory Smith.

Cooper had to withstand pressure in the race after starting from pole position, first from Smith and then Foster, before taking the victory in his first National FF1600 outing this year.

Smith had moved up to second place in the opening two laps to challenge for the lead but Foster – who started on the front row alongside Cooper – regained the position back on lap four of 19.

There was contact at Paddock Hill with less than five minutes on the clock which resulted in Foster spinning out of contention for the race win. This gave Cooper some breathing space, whilst Michael Eastwell took advantage to move up from fifth to second.

Smith had the three Cliff Dempsey Racing cars of Spike Kohlbecker, James Clarke and Jonathan Browne behind him. Browne recorded the fastest lap of the race and looked the quicker of the three drivers, but on the penultimate lap he attempted a move on Kohlbecker at Paddock Hill which resulted him spinning into the gravel where he was left stranded.

Clarke had dropped back into Chris Middlehurst and Jamie Sharp’s battle, the two drivers having been swapping places throughout the race. Sharp retired three laps before the end with a mechanical failure.

Max Marzorati was the first of the Club championship drivers after taking the chequered flag in seventh. The two championship contenders – Adam Quartermaine and John Svensson – finished 11th and 12th respectively.

Foster rejoined in 12th after his spin but worked his way up to finish the race in ninth place, but wasn’t able to catch Michael Macpherson in eighth.

Morgan Quinn rounded out the top ten and was the highest placed of the rookie drivers.

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Pro Luke Cooper Swift 15m26.116
2 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum +1.231
3 Pro Rory Smith Medina +1.889
4 Pro Spike Kohlbecker Ray +2.114
5 Pro James Clarke Ray +7.592
6 Pro Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +8.054
7 CM Max Marzorati Van Diemen +11.612
8 Pro Michael Macpherson Spectrum +11.854
9 Pro Joey Foster Firman +13.470
10 Pro Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +15.274
11 CM Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +23.618
12 CM John Svensson Van Diemen +23.989
13 CM Pascal Monbaron Ray +25.547
14 Pro Scott Huntley Spectrum +29.279
DNF Pro Jonathan Browne Ray
DNF Pro Jamie Sharp Van Diemen
DNF CM Kenny Cowie Mygale

0 comments on “Luke Cooper wins from pole position in race one at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: