Historic News

Richard Tarling steals Cameron Jackson’s crown at Brands Hatch

Richard Tarling won the first HSCC FF1600 race at Brands Hatch by less than a tenth of a second from Cameron Jackson.

The 2017 champion, driving his Jamun T2, kept in front of Jackson’s Winkelmann for most of the race, despite the 2019 champion-elect pushing extremely hard and sneaking ahead on two occasions.

Jackson has been racing a Crossle sportscar at Goodwood in recent weeks and said after the race that the Winkelmann, which he has not driven for a few weeks, handled very differently.

Tarling is a former instructor at Brands and the circuit is clearly within his comfort zone.

Linton Stutely was third in a Royale, just under half a second back, having challenged Jackson early on but not quite kept within passing distance. Pierre Livingston was the first Merlyn driver home in fourth, having had quite a lonely race between the front three and the seven-car chasing pack.

A nasty-looking accident in the chasing pack on Graham Hill Bend brought out the red flag on the first lap. Clive Richards (Merlyn) and Simon Toyne (Lola) collided and spun off, ending their races. Danny Stanzl’s Elden and Lee Penson’s Lotus were also caught: Stanzl restarted but Penson had to retire, having reached the pits.

Ted Pearson was a strong fifth and led the Over 50 drivers home. He was promoted to the front of the chasing group by the restart and held off the challenge of Stanzl and then Brian Morris’s Lola. Stanzl slipped from the front of the group to ninth late on, fighting over the place with Michael Grant Peterkin’s Brabham BT21.

Merlyn drivers Rob Smith and Ross Drybrough were seventh and eighth. Drybrough had started from the pits.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1   Richard Tarling Jamun T2  
2   Cam Jackson Palliser/Winkelmann WDF2 0.086s
3   Linton Stutley Royale RP3 0.427s
4   Pierre Livingston Merlyn Mk20A 6.304s
5 50 Ted Pearson Merlyn Mk11/17 18.810s
6 50 Brian Morris Lola T202 19.211s
7 50 Rob Smith Merlyn Mk20 19.538s
8   Ross Drybrough Merlyn Mk20 19.669s
9   Daniel Stanzl Elden Mk8 20.211s
10   Michael Grant Peterkin Brabham BT21 20.426s
11 50 Tim Brise Merlyn Mk20 21.441s
12 50 Antony Ross Lola T204 22.158s
13 50 Kevin Stanzl Merlyn Mk20 3.0.086s
14 50 Nigel Adams Lotus 61 1 lap
15 50 Rudolf Ernst Titan Mk6 1 lap
16   Kit Lawson Lotus 31 1 lap
17 50 Andy Langridge Lotus 61 1 lap
18 50 Steve Mansell Macon MR8 1 lap
19 50 David Squire Hawke DL2 1 lap
20 50 Kevin Williams Merlyn Mk20A 2 laps
21 50 Nick Arden Merlyn Mk11a 2 laps

Rachel Harris-Gardiner is Historic editor for ff1600website.com. She is a regular contributor to Autosport and Motorsport News and writes her own blog about women in motorsport, Speedqueens.

0 comments on “Richard Tarling steals Cameron Jackson’s crown at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: