National News

Eastwell fends off pressure at Silverstone for second National win

Michael Eastwell fended off continuous pressure at Silverstone to take his second BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 win.

The Kevin Mills Racing driver made a poor start from pole and lost his lead to Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Jonathan Browne, but regained the place at Brooklands.

From thereon Eastwell had his mirrors full, with his KMR team-mate and Walter Hayes Trophy winner Michael Moyers being the next to threaten his lead.

Moyers reduced the gap to 0.126 seconds before being re-overtaken by Browne at mid-distance.

Several fastest laps brought Team Dolan’s Ross Martin into play, going on to take second place and even attempting a move on Eastwell for the lead down the inside of Copse.

That move compromised Martin through the following sequence of corners, allowing Moyers back through and leading to a five-way fight for third place.

As they crossed the line for the second-to-last lap, they were almost four-wide and it was CDR’s Spike Kohlbecker who came out on top.

Martin became sandwiched in fifth between Browne and James Clarke, the latter who was fending off Rory Smith, who had charged from last on the grid for B-M Racing.

Eastwell and Moyers broke away in the final two laps, and Moyer’s last corner attempt to take the lead left him just 0.066s short of victory. Third for Kohlbecker moves him past the absent Neil Maclennan into the Triple Crown lead.

Championship returnee Joey Foster was involved in the lead battle early on, but the Don Hardman Racing driver then retired, while B-M’s Tom McArthur was not classified as he finished the race in the pits.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Pro Michael Eastwell Spectrum 15 laps
2 Pro Michael Moyers Spectrum +0.066
3 Pro Spike Kohlbecker Ray +0.387
4 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +0.547
5 Pro Ross Martin Van Diemen +0.633
6 Pro James Clarke Ray +1.007
7 Pro Rory Smith Medina +1.304
8 Pro Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +3.626
9 Pro Michael Macpherson Spectrum +5.298
10 Pro Thomas Capezzone Swift +5.370
11 Pro Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +9.295
12 CM Henry Chart Van Diemen +9.703
13 Pro Kenny Cowie Ray +12.296
14 CM Pascal Monbaron Ray +12.474
15 CM Nigel Dolan Van Diemen +12.969
16 CM John Svensson Van Diemen +25.635
17 CM Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +29.025
18 CM Sam Street Swift +33.592
NC Pro Tom McArthur Medina +12.374
DNF Pro Joey Foster Firman
Fastest lap: Smith, 1:01.547
Championship standings
Pro 1 Martin 478   2 Kohlbecker 440   3 Neil Maclennan 343   4 Browne 321   5 Clarke 317   6 Smith 286   7 Sharp 222   8 Macpherson 176   9 Quinn 173   10 Jamie Thorburn 155
Clubman 1 Svensson 409   2 Quartermaine 319   3 Max Marzorati 234   4 Monbaron 172   5 Chart 95   6 Dolan 85   7 Street 58   8 Klaus-Dieter Haeckel 40
Triple Crown 1 Kohlbecker 185   2 Neil Maclennan 164   3 Martin 164   4 Clarke 136   5 Browne 135   6 Smith 131   7 Sharp 95   8 Macpherson 62   9 Aaron Jeansonne 61   10 Quinn 57

0 comments on “Eastwell fends off pressure at Silverstone for second National win

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: