Champion of Brands MSVR News

Eastwell takes Bert Ray Memorial Trophy as Cooper and Smith clash

Michael Eastwell took victory in the second Champion of Brands race of the weekend, after Race 1 winner Luke Cooper clashed with Rory Smith on the opening lap.

The incident occurred as the pair went wheel to wheel into the first corner with Smith trying to go around the outside. The pair touched wheels, with Smith sent into the barriers and Cooper sliding sideways into the gravel trap – bringing out the safety car.

Both drivers were uninjured, but made sporadic 2019 starter Eastwell’s job considerably easier out in front.

After several laps under caution, Eastwell was quickly able to pull away from Max Marzorati behind, and he remained unchallenged for the course of the race, eventually finishing 10 seconds clear of second place after 15 laps.

With it, he wins the prestigious Bert Ray Memorial Trophy for the second year in succession. It was presented by Ray’s daughter, Janine, on the podium.

The best scrap of the race was behind Eastwell as Davide Meloni finished second after a long-fought battle with Thomas Cappezzone and Max Marzorati. Meloni made his way past Marzorati on Lap 12, with a decisive move up the inside at Druids.

Marzorati, who made a great start to move up from sixth to second on the opening lap, had initially built up a gap Meloni behind before making an error into Surtees on the fifth lap, allowing Meloni to gain ground.

Cappezzone came back strong later in the race, joining the battle between Meloni and Marzorati when Meloni made a failed attempt to pass Marzorati on lap 9. Cappezzone eventually moved past Marzorati in the closing stages to take third place.

Adam Fathers enjoyed a second lonely race of the day to finish an unchallenged fifth, concluding a strong day of competition for the local driver.

Another fine scrap was between Richard Mendoza and Paul Mason, with Mendoza coming out ahead in sixth.

Mendoza took the victory in the new over 50s category for the top-placed driver over 50.

After failing to start the first race due to technical issues, neither Andrew Pryke or Mark Adkins started the second race either.

Race results: (15 laps)

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1   Michael Eastwell Spectrum 011c 15:23.381
2   Davide Meloni Van Diemen JL15 +10.052
3   Thomas Cappezzone Swift Cooper SC16 +10.690
4   Max Marzorati Van Diemen RF01 +11.439
5   Adam Fathers Ray GR16 +16.037
6   Richard Mendoza Mygale EM18 +25.322
7   Paul Mason Swift SC94 +26.006
8   Shaun Macklin Swift SC92F +33.570
9   Ian Jeary Dulon LD9 +40.307
10   John Whitbourn Ray GR10/18K +40.355
11   Innes Hickman Van Diemen RF89 1 lap
12   Simon Pruce Reynard 89FF 1 lap
13   Terry Durdin Crossle 25s 1 lap
14   Ben Hadfield Van Diemen RF78 1 lap
15   Luke Cooper Swift Cooper SC16 Collision
16   Rory Smith Medina JL18 Collision
17   Andrew Pryke Van Diemen RF04 DNS
18   Mark Adkins Jamun M92 DNS

Fastest lap: Eastwell, 50.828s

0 comments on “Eastwell takes Bert Ray Memorial Trophy as Cooper and Smith clash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: