Heritage MSVR News

Blijleven beats Gardner to take maiden Heritage win at Cadwell Park

Jaap Blijleven claimed a maiden victory in the Zig Zag Lighting Heritage Formula Ford Championship after passing polesitter Mike Gardner in the closing stages of race one at Cadwell Park.

The result means that Dutchman Blijleven has closed the gap to championship leader Ollie White – who is not racing this weekend – to 40 points ahead of this afternoon’s second race.

Gardner led for the first seven-laps in his Crossle, building almost a two-second lead, while Blijleven found himself under pressure from Scott Guthrie in the battle for second in the early stages.

But Blijleven was able to pull away from Guthrie, and started catching Gardner for the lead.

On lap 8 Gardner ran wide at Gooseneck corner, with Blijleven grabbing the opportunity to take the lead, immediately building a 1.5s lead by the end of the lap.

Blijleven cruised home in the remaining two laps to take the win, with Gardner finishing 4.5s behind in second after losing time on the last lap during a sideways moment.

Class B Championship leader Guthrie had a relatively lonely race as he took third in his Crossle 32F, 18s clear of Christopher Stones in fourth in another Van Diemen machine.

Stones was embroiled in an early battle with Tom Roark, but gained fourth after Roark retired after just two-laps in his Van Diemen.

Neil Hunt – joint third in the overall standings prior to the race – and Simon Davey spent most of the race in a battle for fifth, with Hunt coming out on top by 0.7s in his Mondiale.

Don Boyack finished in seventh, with fellow Van Diemen driver Graham Woodin the last of the classified finishers in eighth.

Ian Fernihough retired in the closing stages after pulling off the circuit while running ninth in his Swift, while David Roark was unable to take start from 11th on the grid.

Race Results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Jaap Blijleven Reynard 16m 15.720s
2 A Mike Gardner Crossle +4.564
3 A Scott Guthrie Van Diemen +6.788
4 A Christopher Stones Van Diemen +25.128
5 A Neil Hunt Mondiale +32.396
6 B Simon Davey Van Diemen +33.148
7 B Dan Boyack Van Diemen +43.796
8 A Graham Woodin Van Diemen 1 Lap
9 A Ian Fernihough Swift 4 Laps
10 A Tom Roark Van Diemen 8 Laps
11 B David Roark Van Diemen DNS

0 comments on “Blijleven beats Gardner to take maiden Heritage win at Cadwell Park

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: