Historic News

Grant triumphs in Historic Gold Cup duel with Livingston

Callum Grant claimed a hard-fought win for the first HSCC Historic Formula Ford race of the day at Oulton Park, defeating a combative Pierre Livingston.

The two Merlyn Mk20 drivers traded the lead early on but Grant got himself in front and held off Livingston until the end. The two were extremely close for much of the race and Grant was only able to eke out a safe lead in the last couple of laps.

Both Grant and Livingston got excellent starts, as did fourth-placed Clive Richards, also in a Merlyn. Benjamin Tusting was third, having made up a couple of places on the first lap from his sixth place on the grid. He and Richards had been neck and neck for most of the race’s distance and were less than a tenth apart on the finish line.

Danny Stanzl (Elden Mk8) and Ted Pearson (Merlyn Mk11/17) followed. They were part of a six-car chasing group in the mid-part of the race, although Stanzl got clear of Pearson late on. Stanzl did not get away strongly and was dropped to fifth, although he did run as high as fourth at some points and was almost on the back of Richards’s car at the flag.

Brian Morris was the last of the six chasing cars in his Lola T202, although he lost touch with Pearson towards the end, finishing four seconds behind in seventh.

Richards and Pearson were the leading Radio Caroline Over 50 drivers, with usual leader Rob Smith having to settle for third, eighth overall, after an indifferent qualifying session.

Ross Drybrough was ninth in his Merlyn Mk20, ahead of Tim Brise’s Mk20 which trailed some way behind in tenth place.

Maathew Wrigley, who had qualified in fifth, had to settle for 13th in his Lotus 59, having received a 30s penalty for a jump start in what was a caution- and controversy-free race.

Race results


Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1   Callum Grant Merlyn Mk20 11 laps
2   Pierre Livingston Merlyn Mk20 1.451
3   Benjamin Tusting Merlyn Mk20 5.533
4 50 Clive Richards Merlyn Mk20 5.617
5   Daniel Stanzl Elden Mk8 6.310
6 50 Ted Pearson Merlyn Mk11/17 9.119
7 50 Brian Morris Lola T202 13.815
8 50 Rob Smith Merlyn Mk20 23.114
9   Ross Drybrough Merlyn Mk20 23.474
10 50 Tim Brise Merlyn Mk20 35.082
11 50 Kevin stanzl Crossle 16F 35.393
12   James Buckton Elden Mk8/10 36.511
13   Matthew Wrigley Lotus 59 44.484
14   Peter Hamilton Lotus 51 66.133
15 50 Nigel Adams Lotus 61 82.552
16 50 Geoff Underwood Merlyn Mk20 83.410
17   Tony Cove March 709 89.683
18   Lee Penson Lotus 51A 92.867
19   Freddie Lillingston-Price Merlyn Mk11 94.990
20 50 Dick Dixon Lotus 61 +1 lap
21 50 Paul Unsworth Lola T200 +6 laps
22 50 Andy Langridge Lotus 61 + 8 laps

Fastest lap: Grant, 1m51.383s

Rachel Harris-Gardiner is Historic editor for ff1600website.com. She is a regular contributor to Autosport and Motorsport News and writes her own blog about women in motorsport, Speedqueens.

0 comments on “Grant triumphs in Historic Gold Cup duel with Livingston

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: