Fisher holds off Cooper to win penultimate round of Castle Combe FF1600

Josh Fisher won the ninth round of the Castle Combe FF1600 Championship sponsored by Melksham Motor Spares as he held off Luke Cooper and brother Felix Fisher.

Fisher had yet another great start to beat Cooper into turn one, and went on to hold on to the lead for the remainder of the race.

There is uncertainty as to whether Josh Fisher is the 2019 CCRC FF1600 champion and the Castle Combe Racing Club will make a further announcement in due course.

Although Cooper managed to stay with Josh Fisher for the entirety of the race, he did not get close enough to make a pass and also had deal with defending his own position from the TM Racing Ray GR05 of Felix Fisher.

Chris Acton had a strong race as he made his way through the field, having started 10th. He finished fourth but such was the pace of the leading trio, Acton crossed the line 14.8s behind Felix Fisher.

David Cobbold also had a fantastic race as he finished sixth in his Class C Van Diemen RF89, taking class victory in the process.

Adam Higgins ended up crossing the line sixth despite running fourth in the early stages. He lost four places on lap three before recovering two positions in the latter stages.

Tom Hawkins was seventh while Kieran Attwood, Harry Cobbold and Matthew Hallam completed the top 10.

Shaun Macklin was the only retirement of the race pulling up just before Camp on lap four with a rear suspension issue.

Photo by Mike Stokes/Trackside Images

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Josh Fisher Van Diemen JL14 8 laps
2 A Luke Cooper Swift SC16 +0.149
3 A Felix Fisher Ray GR05 +0.473
4 A Chris Acton Ray GR08 +15.372
5 C David Cobbold Van Diemen RF89 +16.212
6 A Adam Higgins Firman 17 +17.014
7 A Tom Hawkins Ray GR11 +17.355
8 A Kieran Attwood Ray GR07 +17.719
9 A Harry Cobbold Ray GR10 +22.049
10 A Matthew Hallam Spectrum 011c +23.893
11 A Bob Higgins Firman 17 +25.218
12 C Steve Bracegirdle Van Diemen 89 +33.563
13 C Peter Lucas Van Diemen RF89 +33.708
14 C James Colborn Van Diemen RF89 +52.983
15 D Alan Slater Nike Mk4 +53.838
16 B James Rose Swift SC95 +71.258
17 C Michael Phillips Swift FB17 +72.370
18 D Peter Hannam Nike 1970 +72.729
19 B Shaun Macklin Swift SC92 +5 laps

Fastest lap: F Fisher, 1m10.401s

0 comments on “Fisher holds off Cooper to win penultimate round of Castle Combe FF1600

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: