Cooper wins round eight of Castle Combe FF1600

Luke Cooper has kept his title hopes alive after winning round eight of the Castle Combe FF1600 Championship sponsored by Melksham Motor Spares.

Cooper went into the weekend behind Josh Fisher in the CCRC FF1600 standings and claimed both pole positions, with Josh Fisher in second, with a last-lap effort in qualifying.

Wayne Poole Racing’s Josh Fisher got the best start and jumped Cooper at the start which allowed Josh’s brother, Felix, to pressure Cooper for second place.

He then had to settle in for a tight battle with both of the Fisher brothers but defended brilliantly and held on to win his third race of the season.

Felix Fisher eventually finished second after a battle with Josh Fisher. The pair overtook each other multiple times before Felix made a move stick on lap seven out of eight – the race was shortened by two laps due to barrier repairs from earlier races at the circuit.

Adam Higgins held on to fourth place for the entirety of the race in his Firman 17 and finished just ahead of Chris Acton and Tom Hawkins.

David Cobbold was just over two seconds behind Hawkins, crossing the line in seventh place while Matthew Hallam, Harry Cobbold and Kieran Attwood rounded out the top ten.

Alex Rivett was the only non-starter of the race after his rear wheel sheered off in qualifying. The damage sustained means he is unable to take part in either race.

Photo by Mike Stokes/Trackside Images

Race results


Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Luke Cooper Swift SC16 8 laps
2 A Felix Fisher Ray GR05 +0.555
3 A Josh Fisher Van Diemen JL14 +0.912
4 A Adam Higgins Firman 17 +12.257
5 A Chris Acton Ray GR08 +12.488
6 A Tom Hawkins Ray GR11 +12.753
7 C David Cobbold Van Diemen RF89 +15.213
8 A Matthew Hallam Spectrum 011c +18.377
9 A Harry Cobbold Ray GR10 +18.631
10 A Kieran Attwood Ray GR07 +18.773
11 B Shaun Macklin Swift SC92 +31.666
12 C Steve Bracegirdle Van Diemen 89 +32.216
13 C Peter Lucas Van Diemen RF89 +35.583
14 D Alan Slater Nike Mk4 +39.639
15 C James Colborn Van Diemen RF89 +40.486
16 B James Rose Swift SC95 +49.767
17 D Peter Hannam Nike 1970 +54.901
18 A Bob Higgins Firman 17 +62.361
19 C Michael Phillips Swift FB87 +72.220

Fastest lap: Josh Fisher, 1m10.367s

0 comments on “Cooper wins round eight of Castle Combe FF1600

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: