Classic News

Morris defeats weather to win again at Snetterton

Rick Morris took his fifth Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford win of the season at Snetterton, mastering tricky conditions as well as an attacking opposition.

His black Royale prevailed over Craig Currie’s Crossle 30/32F in a race that was battered by strong winds, a dust storm and heavy rain coming in across the circuit during the last two laps of the race.

Morris’s chief title rival Tim Harvey retired very early with a broken rear wishbone, allowing Morris to extend his championship lead to 15 points.

Currie briefly led at the start, as Morris missed second gear, but he took his place back at Oggies on the opening lap when Currie slid. Currie’s car proved itself nimble at the corners, but no match for Morris on the straights.

Gislain Genecand was third, in spite of a sluggish start. The Swiss seemed unfazed by the weather, overtaking and pulling away from the battle for what became fourth at the end.

The weather ended the duel between Mark Armstrong (Van Diemen RF80) and Simon Jackson (Javelin) for fourth, ending up finishing over 12 seconds apart.

Scott Guthrie’s Crossle was also in contention for third early on, but sank back to battle with fellow Crossle drivers Will Zanelli and Stuart Kestenbaum. He finished seventh, just in front of Kevin Mansell and Class B winner Kestenbaum.

Zanelli spun at Palmer in the rain and finished out of the top 10.

Mike Gardner made an impressive comeback from the back of the grid, having changed the broken wheel that dumped him out of the first race.

After only a few laps, he made it to sixth place and ran as high as fifth, until he was passed by a podium-bound Genecand. A lairy spin at Palmer hindered his progress thereafter and he settled for sixth.

As Palmer and the infield loop became wet in the final laps, several drivers ended up spinning off – including Mark Harrison in his Lola, Zanelli and Richard Attwood, who stopped just before Hamilton.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 A Rick Morris Royale 10 laps
2 A Craig Currie Crossle +3.116
3   Gislain Genecand Van Diemen +13.642
4 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen +19.703
5 A Simon Jackson Javelin +32.430
6 A Mike Gardner Crossle +39.379
7 A Scott Guthrie Crossle +45.923
8 A Kevin Mansell Crossle +48.688
9 B Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle +54.332
10 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen +1:00.658
11 A Will Zanelli Van Diemen +1:12.170
12 A Alan Fincham Van Diemen +1:14.453
13 A Mark Harrison Lola +2:04.640
14 B David Lowe Crossle +2:06.747
15 A George Ditchfield Van Diemen +1 lap
16 A Michael Saunders PRS +1 lap
17 A Ben Hadfield Van Diemen +1 lap
DNF A Phil Attwood Crossle  
DNF A Rupert Howe Royale  
DNF B Ian Jeary Dulon  
DNF A Terry Durdin Crossle  
DNF A Tim Harvey Van Diemen  
Fastest lap: Genecand, 2:07.526
Championship standings
Class A   1 Morris 93   2 Harvey 78   3 Armstrong 61   4 Mansell 59   5 Kestenbaum 32   6 Ben Tinkler 27   7 Jackson 27   8 Pearce 26   9 Harrison 25   10 Currie 21
Class B   1 Lowe 37   2 Kestenbaum 33   3 Simon Hadfield 25   4 Jeary 18   5 Kevin Stanzl 12   6 Matthew Wrigley 11   7 Ron Haslam 7   8 Tiff Needell 3   9 Adrian Reynard 2   10 Saunders 1

2 comments on “Morris defeats weather to win again at Snetterton

  1. Peter Hackett

    Nice report but could do with padding out with some of the lower guys . but still an 8 out 10 report /


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: