Classic News

Morris blows away rivals in windy Snetterton Classic qualifying

Rick Morris’s experience paid off at a wind-blasted Snetterton as he posted yet another pole in the Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford championship.

Long-term Royale driver Morris was almost a second faster than his nearest challenger, a resurgent Mike Gardner in his Crossle.

Gardner has struggled with car problems and also with an injured shoulder this season, but was a clear second quickest behind Morris.

Third on the grid will be taken by Simon Jackson in his ex-Nigel Mansell Javelin.

Jackson, who is the 2018 French Historic Formula 3 champion and father of Historic Formula Ford championship leader Cameron Jackson, was just over a second behind Gardner.

Current championship leader and Morris’s chief title rival, Tim Harvey, could only manage fourth place in his Gulf-coloured Van Diemen, part of a tight group with Crossle driver Craig Currie and Swiss Gislain Genecand, whose Crossle 25F is a more common sight in the HSCC FF1600 series.

2018 Class A champion Mark Armstrong also struggled, putting his Van Diemen RF80 in ninth place.

Stuart Kestenbaum (Crossle 16F) is the leading Class B driver in eleventh, just behind tenth-placed Kevin Mansell in a later Crossle.

Mark Harrison qualified the Lola T504E that he usually shares with son Jordan, whose rivalry with Morris peaked at Thruxton with a spectacular last-lap crash. He will start in 16th.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Rick Morris Royale RP29 2:07.149
2 A Mike Gardner Crossle 30/32F +0.856
3 A Simon Jackson Javelin JL5 +1.858
4 A Tim Harvey Van Diemen RF81 +1.919
5 A Craig Currie Crossle 30/32F +2.240
6 G Gislain Genecand Crossle 25F +2.472
7 A Will Zanelli Van Diemen RF80 +2.808
8 A Scott Guthrie Crossle 25F +2.881
9 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen RF80 +3.318
10 A Kevin Mansell Crossle 32F +3.325
11 B Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle 16F +3.642
12 A Alan Fincham Van Diemen RF80 +4.252
13 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen RF81 +4.866
14 B Ian Jeary Dulon LD9 +8.174
15 B David Lowe Lotus 69 +9.077
16 A Mark Harrison Lola T504E +9.410
17 A Ben Hadfield Van Diemen RF78 +9.734
18 A Phil Attwood Crossle 32F +10.545
19 A Terry Durdin Crossle 32F +14.995
20 A George Ditchfield Van Diemen RF78 +15.221
21 A Rupert Howe Royale RP26 +15.884
22 A Michael Saunders PRS RH01 +20.693

0 comments on “Morris blows away rivals in windy Snetterton Classic qualifying

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: