Historic News

Jackson wins again in red-flagged Croft Historic race

Cameron Jackson made up for missing out on pole for the first HSCC Historic Formula Ford race at Croft, narrowly beating polesitter Callum Grant.

The race was cut in half by a red flag after Pierre Livingston and Ted Pearson, both driving Merlyns, collided between Sunny Out and the Complex while battling for third.

Pearson, whose car was badly damaged and needed lifting off the track, will miss race two, and described the clash as a “racing incident”.

Livingston made a quick getaway and led briefly at the beginning of the race, passing Grant and pushing Jackson’s Winkelmann down to third.

The two more experienced racers fought back quickly and a finely poised slipstreaming struggle began between them.

It was Grant’s Merlyn that was ahead when the red flag fell.

The restart triggered a shotened and frenetic eight-minute scramble for position, in which Jackson had the upper hand.

Jackson defended vigorously with Grant stuck to his tail and won by a small margin of just 0.261s, with the three Classic Team Merlyn cars behind them.

Ed Thurston overcame a slight lack of pace to muscle past Danny Stanzl’s Elden and his team-mate Benjamin Tusting, establishing third place before the restart.

Recovering from his collision with Pearson earlier, Livingston managed to pass Tusting for fourth, having slipped back to ninth after his incident.

Rob Smith was the leading Radio Caroline Over 50 driver in his Merlyn Mk20, finishing sixth. He was not seriously challenged for the veterans’ crown after Pearson’s retirement.

Stanzl had been part of the leading group for most of the race and ran as high as fifth, but he stopped on the circuit near to the end and posted a DNF.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1   Cameron Jackson Winkelmann 6 laps
2   Callum Grant Merlyn +0.261
3   Ed Thurston Merlyn +1.922
4   Pierre Livingston Merlyn +2.561
5   Benjamin Tusting Merlyn +7.064
6 O50 Rob Smith Merlyn +7.909
7   Matthew Wrigley Merlyn +11.477
8 O50 Chris Stuart Crossle +18.587
9 O50 John Hayes-Harlow Merlyn +36.394
10 O50 Louis Hanjoul Elden +37.043
11 O50 Donald Laird Elden +53.770
12 O50 Nick Arden Merlyn +1:05.407
13 O50 Nigel Adams Lotus +1:16.409
DNF   Daniel Stanzl Elden  
Fastest lap: Grant, 1:29.517
Championship standings
1 Jackson 245   2 Grant 161   3 Livingston 146   4 Tusting 121   5 Stanzl 113   6 Smith 108   7 Thurston 80   8 Ted Pearson 80   9 Ross Drybrough 72   10 Gislain Genecand 53

0 comments on “Jackson wins again in red-flagged Croft Historic race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: