News Northern

Tom McArthur claims Oulton double despite last lap Wolfenden clash

Tom McArthur claimed victory in a shortened second BRSCC Avon Tyres Northern FF1600 race at Oulton Park, despite a last lap clash with title leader Jack Wolfenden.

The race was shortened to ten minutes following a lap one crash which brought out the red flags, with Super Classic runners Richard Ketterman, Trevor Morgan, Nick Barnes and Matt Bedford all retiring.

McArthur and Wolfenden repeated their lead battle from race one following the restart, with McArthur leading away from pole. 

As Wolfenden tried to find a way by his rival, FF1600 returnee Chris Chisnall pounced to steal second place, with Wolfenden retaking the place a few corners later before resuming his challenge for the lead.

The battle went down to the last lap but, with one corner to go, McArthur missed a gear, causing Wolfenden to spin after hitting the back of the Medina.

Chisnall, running in a close third place, crashed into the barriers after trying to avoid the spinning Myerscough College driver, with Wolfenden able to rejoin and finish fifth.

Nigel Dolan and James Hadfield profited from the incident to take second and third places respectively in their Van Diemens, with Matthew Chisholm inheriting fourth.

Neil McArthur finished sixth, just 0.280s behind Wolfenden, with B-M Racing’s Davide Meloni taking sixth, having been passed by Neil McArthur during the race.

Super Classic points leader Ian Schofield repeated his feat from race one by taking the class honours, finishing eighth overall in his Reynard.

Colin Lawson finished ninth ahead of Patrick Humphreys, with Simon Fraser the last of the classified finishers in 11th after starting from the pitlane.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Post98 Tom McArthur Medina 6 laps
2 Post98 Nigel Dolan Van Diemen +3.834
3 Post98 James Hadfield Van Diemen +4.223
4 Post98 Matt Chisholm Van Diemen +5.608
5 Post98 Jack Wolfenden Firman +13.753
6 Post98 Neil McArthur Van Diemen +14.033
7 Post98 Davide Meloni Van Diemen +14.479
8 SC Ian Schofield Reynard +25.261
9 SC Colin Lawson Van Diemen +51.191
10 SC Patrick Humphreys Van Diemen +51.954
11 SC Simon Fraser Van Diemen +1:43.174
DNF Post89 Chris Chisnall Medina  
DNF SC Trevor Morgan Reynard  
DNF SC Richard Ketterman Reynard  
DNF SC Nick Barnes Swift  
DNF SC Matt Bedford Mondiale  
Fastest lap: T McArthur, 1:49.000
Championship standings
Post89 1 Wolfenden 156   2 Dolan 148   3 T McArthur 127   4 David McArthur 87   5 Rory Smith 64   6 N McArthur 62   7 Ross Martin 59   8 Pascal Monbaron 48   9 Jamie Sharp 46   10 Chisholm 42
Clubman 1 Schofield 229   2 Bruceie 144   3 Barnes 119   4 Fraser 88   5 Humphreys 84   6 Ketterman 81   7 John Murphy 68   8 Morgan 66   9 Gordon 56   10 Stuart Jones 46

0 comments on “Tom McArthur claims Oulton double despite last lap Wolfenden clash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: