News Northern

Tom McArthur beats Wolfenden in red-flagged Northern race

Tom McArthur won the opening race at the fourth round of the BRSCC Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford at Oulton Park after a close battle with Jack Wolfenden.

B-M Racing’s McArthur finished 0.507s ahead of championship leader Wolfenden after a late red flag, deployed due to a collision between Alaric Gordon and Juiceie Bruceie.

Reigning Northern champion Gordon hit Bruceie’s stationary Reynard 84FF, which had broken down at the Knickerbrook chicane, with both drivers climbing out of their cars immediately afterwards.

Wolfenden led away from pole position at the start, but was passed by McArthur at Hislops, before Wolfenden regained the lead at the end of the opening lap.

The pair continued to contest the lead, with McArthur reclaiming first place on lap three, and fended off Wolfenden until the finish.

Chris Chisnall, making his first FF1600 appearance in several years in the absent David McArthur’s Medina, finished in a comfortable third place, three seconds behind the leader.

Nigel Dolan finished in fourth ahead of fellow Van Diemen runner James Hadfield.

Davide Meloni fell behind both Doland and Hadfield during the race, finishing sixth for B-M Racing.

Matthew Chisholm took seventh, finishing just over a second clear of fellow Van Diemen runner Neil McArthur.

Super Classic points leader Ian Schofield took class honours in ninth place overall, with Nick Barnes finishing overall in his Swift FB89.

Matt Bedford led the Super Classic class while running ninth overall until five minutes to go, when he pitted his Mondiale M845 with a technical issue.

Both Bruceie and Gordon will miss this afternoon’s second race due to the damage sustained to their cars in the late red flag incident.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P Tom McArthur Medina Sport JL18 5 laps
2 P Jack Wolfenden Firman RFR17 +0.507
3 P Chris Chisnall Medina BH19 +2.301
4 P Nigel Dolan Van Diemen JL012K +7.253
5 P James Hadfield Van Diemen RF03 +8.407
6 P Davide Meloni Van Diemen JL15 +8.794
7 P Matthew Chisholm Van Diemen RF00 +13.580
8 P Neil McArthur Van Diemen LA10 +14.307
9 SCB Andrew Schofield Reynard 89FF +20.695
10 SCB Nick Barnes Swift FB89 +24.072
11 SCB Trevor Morgan Reynard 88FF +33.412
12 SCB Richard Ketterman Reynard 86FF +36.938
13 SCB Patrick Humphreys Van Diemen RF86 +38.888
14 SCC Colin Lawson Van Diemen RF80 +40.579
15 SCB Simon Fraser Van Diemen RF85 +1:11.921
NC SCA Alaric Gordon Swift SC97
NC SCB Juiceie Bruceie Reynard 84FF
DNF SCB Matt Bedford Mondiale M845

0 comments on “Tom McArthur beats Wolfenden in red-flagged Northern race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: