National News

Maclennan win at Brands Hatch tightens National title race

Neil Maclennan - Kevin Mills Racing - Spectrum - 2018 Formula Ford Festival - Brands Hatch

Neil Maclennan held off a race-long attack from Cliff Dempsey Racing’s trio of driver to take victory in the second BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 race at Brands Hatch Indy.

Kevin Mills Racing’s lead driver snatched the race lead early on and was briefly able to gap the rest of the field as CDR’s James Clarke, Spike Kohlbecker, and Jonathan Browne battled for second.

Once polesitter Kohlbecker shook off Clarke, he quickly closed the gap to Maclennan. He kept the pressure on the race leader, but found himself under attack from team-mate Browne again in the closing stages of the race.

Browne swept past Kohlbecker to take second, and mounted an attack from the race lead. MacLennan put up a strong defence, and the two – who came to blows in race one – were side by side as they took the chequered flag, with MacLennan just 0.096 seconds ahead.

Kohlbecker completed the podium, with Clarke 0.336s behind the winner in fourth.

Rory Smith spent most of the race defending against championship leader Ross Martin. Martin started 10th after a spin in the opening race, and quickly made his way up to sixth.

The pair ran nose-to-tail throughout the race as Martin tried to find a way past. Smith held firm to take fifth for B-M Racing, with Team Dolan’s Martin a further 0.106s back.

Martin’s gap over Kohlbecker and Maclennan at the top of the standings has now decreased to 23 points.

Aaron Jeansonne took seventh and the reverse grid pole, ahead of Jamie Sharp and Clubman class winner Max Marzorati.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Pro Neil Maclennan Spectrum 18 laps
2 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +0.096
3 Pro Spike Kohlbecker Ray +0.252
4 Pro James Clarke Ray +0.336
5 Pro Rory Smith Medina +1.145
6 Pro Ross Martin Van Diemen +1.251
7 Pro Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen +7.605
8 Pro Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +11.344
9 CM Max Marzorati Van Diemen +12.016
10 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +16.997
11 Pro Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +21.404
12 CM Jason Down Getem Mygale +23.273
13 CM Adam Quartermaine Spectrum +25.291
14 Pro Scott Huntley Spectrum +28.373
15 CM Henry Chart Medina +33.227
16 Pro Nicole Woods Van Diemen +41.941
DNF Pro Michael Macpherson Spectrum
Fastest lap: Clarke, 50.716
Championship standings
Pro 1 Martin 339   2 Kohlbecker 322   3 Maclennan 316   4 Clarke 253   5 Smith 221   6 Browne 199   7 Sharp 163   8 Quinn 123   9 Macpherson 122   10 Jeansonne 116
Clubman 1 John Svensson 285   2 Quartermaine 264   3 Marzorati 230   4 Pascal Monbaron 143   5 Nigel Dolan 61   6 Down 54   7 Chart 54   8 Sam Street 40   9 Klaus-Dieter Haeckel 40

0 comments on “Maclennan win at Brands Hatch tightens National title race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: