Champion of Brands News

Thomas Cappezzone takes last minute pole at Champion of Brands

Thomas Cappezzone secured his maiden Champion of Brands pole position at the end of a drying session at Brands Hatch.

The fifth round of qualifying for the series took place on a wet but drying track. Qualifying times continued to drop throughout the 15-minute session, with Thomas Cappezzone taking pole position at the very end with a time of 56.973 seconds.

Throughout the session, pole position was swapping between between Cappezzone and Kevin Mills Racing’s Neil Maclennan. Maclennan will start the first race of the day on the front row, missing out on pole by 0.903 seconds.

Maclennan was the first car to record a time under the 1 minute mark with over five minutes left on the clock.

Starting the race on the second row is Michael Macpherson and Jonathan Browne.

Max Marzorati will start the race fifth ahead of Aaron Jeansonne who jumped up from tenth in the closing stages of the session.

Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Spike Kohlbecker, who earlier in the session was in the mix for pole position, will be starting the race in seventh alongside Oldfield Motorsport’s Henry Chart – whose fastest lap time was disallowed for exceeding track limits. Davide Meloni was the last driver to record a time under the minute mark.

The next four drivers were covered by a second with Jason Down ahead of Conor Murphy, Jack Kemp and Adam Fathers.

Hayden Hardyman will start fourteenth ahead of John Whitbourn, Andrew Pryke, Simon Pruce, Ian Jeary, Don Boyack and Innes Hickman.

There were transponder issues for both Alan Slater – who spent much of the end of the session in the pits – and Terry Durdin who will be starting 21st and 23rd, with Mark Adkins in between them.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Thomas Cappezzone Swift 56.973
2 Neil Maclennan Spectrum +0.903
3 Michael Macpherson Formula Ford +1.176
4 Jonathan Browne Ray +1.547
5 Max Marzorati Van Diemen +1.609
6 Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen +1.709
7 Spike Kohlbecker Ray +1.974
8 Henry Chart Van Diemen +1.993
9 Davide Meloni Van Diemen +2.345
10 Jason Down Mygale +3.454
11 Conor Murphy Mondiale +3.532
12 Jack Kemp Ray +3.688
13 Adam Fathers Ray +3.932
14 Hayden Hardyman Ray +5.521
15 John Whitbourn Ray +8.747
16 Andrew Pryke Van Diemen +9.505
17 Simon Pruce Reynard +10.730
18 Ian Jeary Dulon +11.583
19 Don Boyack Van Diemen +11.825
20 Innes Hickman Van Diemen +12.220
21 Alan Slater Nike +14.158
22 Mark Adkins Jamun +15.166

0 comments on “Thomas Cappezzone takes last minute pole at Champion of Brands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: