Champion of Brands News

Neil Maclennan takes maiden Champion of Brands victory

Photo: James Beckett/CJB Media

Kevin Mills Racing’s Neil Maclennan took a dominant win to become Champion of Brands for the first time at Brands Hatch in the first race of the day.

Maclennan was able to jump polesitter Thomas Cappezzone at the start to take the lead going down the Brabham straight. From there Maclennan was able to dominate the race, pulling away from Cappezzone instantly.

The gap was neutralised at the end of lap one when the safety car was deployed after Michael Macpherson was beached in the gravel trap at Paddock Hill bend with suspension damage sustained in contact.

The restart of the race was at lap four, and once again Maclennan was able to break away from Cappezzone, who was being challenged by Jonathan Browne. Maclennan held a 5.665 lead on second place at the end of the 15-minute race. In the first laps after the restart the second and third-placed drivers had pulled away from the rest of the field.

There was a fine battle for fourth with Max Marzorati and the Cliff Dempsey Racing-entered car of Spike Kohlbecker. Kohlbecker gained the position and with less than half of the race left to run had moved up to third ahead of polesitter Cappezzone. Marzorati was also able to gain a position from Cappezzone with two and half minutes left to run.

Cappezzone ended the race in fifth ahead off Jason Down, who had gained four positions from his starting spot.

Aaron Jeansonne finished the race in seventh after a race long battle with Down, Henry Chart, and Conor Murphy.

Completing the top ten was Jack Kemp ahead of Adam Fathers.

Davide Meloni dropped down the order from ninth to twelfth to finish ahead of Hayden Hardyman and Andrew Pryke who were a lap down from the leader.

Ian Jeary finshed fifteenth, with Simon Pruce and Innes Hickman behind. Terry Durdin, who didn’t set a time in qualifying, recovered from the back of the grid to finish eighteenth ahead of Alan Slater and Don Boyack.

Mark Adkins dropped back from the pack in the opening stages of the race and completed the order. John Whitbourn joined Macpherson as a retirement with a mechanical problem.

Photo courtesy of James Beckett

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Neil Maclennan Spectrum 15:16.366
2 Jonathan Browne Ray +5.665
3 Spike Kohlbecker Ray +5.811
4 Max Marzorati Van Diemen +11.981
5 Thomas Cappezzone Swift +12.255
6 Jason Down Mygale +16.345
7 Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen +17.914
8 Henry Chart Van Diemen +18.088
9 Conor Murphy Mondiale +18.244
10 Jack Kemp Ray +32.073
11 Adam Fathers Ray +32.220
12 Davide Meloni Van Diemen +32.766
13 Hayden Hardyman Ray 1 lap
14 Andrew Pryke Van Diemen 1 lap
15 Ian Jeary Dulon 1 lap
16 Simon Pruce Reynard 1 lap
17 Innes Hickman Van Diemen 1 lap
18 Terry Durdin Crossle 1 lap
19 Alan Slater Nike 1 lap
20 Don Boyack Van Diemen 1 lap
21 Mark Adkins Jamun 1 lap
DNF John Whitbourn Ray Mechanical
DNF Michael Macpherson Formula Ford Collision

Fastest lap: Maclennan 51.102 on lap 5

0 comments on “Neil Maclennan takes maiden Champion of Brands victory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: