Champion of Brands News

Neil Maclennan retains Champion of Brands title with second victory

Photo: James Beckett/CJB Media

Neil Maclennan took his Kevin Mills Racing-entered Spectrum to a second victory of the day to retain the Champion of Brands title at Brands Hatch.

It wasn’t an easy race this time out for Maclennan with the two Cliff Dempsey Racing cars of Jonathan Browne and Spike Kohlbecker on his tail from the start.

The safety car was deployed with seven minutes left on the clock, with Aaron Jeansonne and Adam Fathers in the gravel at Druids. The two cars were caught in a gaggle of cars with oil on the circuit, dropped by Conor Murphy after his own trip into the gravel at Hailwoods Hill.

The lead of the race changed just before the safety car was deployed, with Browne passing Maclennan right shortly before it was deployed. At the restart there was just three minutes left on the clock and Maclennan was all over the back of Browne.

Going into Paddock Hill bend a lap later Maclennan did the switchback and retook the lead of the race. Browne put a wheel on the gravel and Kohlbecker took advantage to take second place.

Coming out of Clark Curve it was a race to the line from the three drivers with Maclennan holding on, with Kohlbecker just ahead of Browne.

Maclennan, the only previous Champion of Brands, crossed the line to take his second win of the day with the top three covered by just 0.303 seconds.

The next bunch of cars had also made the best of the restart, catching out race one pole-sitter Thomas Cappezzone who dropped from fourth at the restart to eighth at the end of the race. Jason Down picked up fourth position ahead of Max Marzorati, Davide Meloni and Henry Chart.

Completing the top ten were Jack Kemp and Ian Jeary.

Andrew Pryke held off Simon Pruce and Innes Hickman for eleventh. Don Boyack, Hayden Hardyman and Terry Durdin were next.

Alan Slater stopped up Hailwoods Hill on the opening lap, but restarted the race again and finished seventeenth. John Whitbourn was the final finisher.

Michael Macpherson, who started at the back after contact in the opening race, in the opening laps gained ten positions, however was a retirement with engine issues – a problem which also plagued fellow retiree Mark Adkins.

Photo courtesy of James Beckett

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Neil Maclennan Spectrum 15:37.564
2 Spike Kohlbecker Ray +0.192
3 Jonathan Browne Ray +0.303
4 Jason Down Mygale +12.178
5 Max Marzorati Van Diemen +14.455
6 Davide Meloni Van Diemen +14.985
7 Henry Chart Van Diemen +15.219
8 Thomas Cappezzone Swift +17.762
9 Jack Kemp Ray +25.337
10 Ian Jeary Dulon +38.126
11 Andrew Pryke Van Diemen 1 lap
12 Simon Pruce Reynard 1 lap
13 Innes Hickman Van Diemen 1 lap
14 Don Boyack Van Diemen 1 lap
15 Hayden Hardyman Ray 1 lap
16 Terry Durdin Crossle 1 lap
17 Alan Slater Nike 1 lap
18 John Whitbourn Ray 1 lap
DNF Conor Murphy Mondiale 8 laps
DNF Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen 9 laps
DNF Adam Fathers Ray 9 laps
DNF Michael Macpherson Formula Ford 10 laps
DNF Mark Adkins Jamun 10 laps

Fastest lap: Browne, 51.278

0 comments on “Neil Maclennan retains Champion of Brands title with second victory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: