Champion of Brands News

Matt Rivett takes Champion of Brands title after leaders clash

Matt Rivett took a well earned victory and his third Champion of Brands title at Brands Hatch this afternoon.

Rivett dropped to fifth at the start but made his way back up to fourth one lap later, passing Logan Hannah into Clearways.

But the race changed completely when pole sitter Ben Edwards and front row starter Max Marzorati clashed on lap eight.

Having kept the lead from pole, Edwards was able to build a gap to Conor Murphy, who had passed Marzorati on the first lap.

After passing Murphy, Marzorati was able to close the gap to Edwards and on lap seven a strong defence at Druids kept Marzorati behind.

Marzorati was then able to make a move on the inside at Paddock Hill Bend on lap eight, and after making contact, Edwards spun into the gravel trap and retired on the spot.

Rivett was then able to pass Murphy into Druids for second place, before the safety car was deployed to recover Edwards’ stricken car.

Once the safety car came in, Rivett kept the pressure on Marzorati until he was able to attempt a pass into Clearways, completing the move into Paddock Hill Bend.

Jason Down stormed through the field to finish third and complete the podium just 0.121s ahead of Murphy.

Adam Fathers came home fifth, having started sixth, in front of Richard Mendoza.

The Graham Brunton Racing drivers of Steve Barlow and Hannah finished in seventh and eighth respectively. Hannah had been in a comfortable fifth place before spinning under the safety car and dropping to eighth.

Andrew Pryke and John Whitbourn completed the top in ninth and tenth.

Innes Hickman and Simon Pruce were the last two drivers running at the chequered flag in 11th and 12th.

Mark Adkins joined pole man Edwards on the sidelines, retiring during the safety car period.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1   Matt Rivett Van Diemen 15:48.975
2   Max Marzorati Van Diemen +0.124
3   Jason Down Mygale +0.786
4   Conor Murphy Mondiale +0.907
5   Adam Fathers Ray +1.497
6   Richard Mendoza Mygale +4.591
7   Steve Barlow Ray +5.251
8   Logan Hannah Ray +5.518
9   Andrew Pryke Van Diemen +11.432
10   John Whitbourn Ray +11.939
11   Innes Hickman Van Diemen +13.944
12   Simon Pruce Reynard +19.103
13   Mark Adkins Jamun DNF
14   Ben Edwards Van Diemen DNF

0 comments on “Matt Rivett takes Champion of Brands title after leaders clash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: