BRSCC National News

Martin breezes to National FF1600 race one win at Croft

Ross Martin took his fourth BRSCC Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 race win of the season after an untroubled lights-to-flag run at Croft.

Making a sharp getaway from pole, the Team Dolan racer completed the first lap with a 1.467s advantage over championship rival Spike Kohlbecker, who made a rapid start from fourth to pass both James Clarke and Rory Smith on the opening tour.

Martin’s advantage grew as the battle for second developed into a six-car fight, with Kohlbecker staunchly defending from B-M Racing’s Smith, along with Clarke, Neil Maclennan, Brendon Leigh and Jonathan Browne all nose-to-tail behind.

Kohlbecker’s defence was broken on lap four as Clarke placed his Ray up the inside on the run into Tower, squeezing the American off the circuit and down into fifth place.

That intra-team duel between the Cliff Dempsey pair allowed Smith and Maclennan to take advantage of Kohlbecker losing momentum.

The fight then split into two sections in the second half of the race, with Clarke and Smith squabbling for second.

On the last lap, it appeared their fight was going to end in tears as the pair banged wheels through the high-speed Jim Clark Esses.

Both Clarke and Smith had to take to the run-off to avoid spinning, with Smith coming back on-track marginally in front to take the chequered flag in second, 0.687s ahead of third-placed Clarke.

Anglesey race three winner Maclennan took fourth after a long-battle with Kohlbecker was settled in the Kevin Mills Racing driver’s favour.

Kohlbecker ran off-track at Sunny In, losing positions to Maclennan and Browne as he recovered back onto the track.

While Kohlbecker had fallen to sixth after his trip-off road, behind fifth-placed Browne, Leigh fell the furthest of those in the congested midfield scrap, a mechanical problem dropping him down to 15th and last on the road.

Seventh went to Jamie Sharp, the Dolan driver comfortably ahead of Oldfield Motorsport’s Carter Williams, who was competing in a Van Diemen for the first time after his spell in a Don Hardman-run Ray last season.

Jamie Thorburn finished ninth, with John Svensson taking Clubman class honours in 10th overall.

Race one results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Pro Ross Martin Van Diemen 1m26.370s
2 Pro Rory Smith Medina +3.212
3 Pro James Clarke Ray +3.899
4 Pro Neil Maclennan Spectrum +4.482
5 Pro Jonathan Browne Ray +8.061
6 Pro Spike Kohlbecker Ray +8.304
7 Pro Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +8.660
8 Pro Carter Williams Van Diemen +11.813
9 Pro Jamie Thorburn Ray +15.350
10 CM John Svensson Van Diemen +15.935
11 Pro Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen +19.867
12 Pro Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +20.900
13 Pro Adrien Laissac Van Diemen +26.302
14 CM Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +46.280
15 Pro Nicole Woods Van Diemen 1:00.350
16 Pro Brendon Leigh Spectrum 1:32.634
DNF Pro Michael Macpherson Spectrum

0 comments on “Martin breezes to National FF1600 race one win at Croft

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: