Historic News

Jackson extends HSCC winning run at Cadwell Park

Cameron Jackson made it seven HSCC Historic Formula Ford win out of seven in 2019 in the second race at Cadwell Park.

The Neil Fowler Motorsport-ran driver was never really troubled after the first couple of corners, and set fastest lap on the way to a 6.345 second victory.

He dedicated the win to team boss Fowler’s father, who died four years ago today (Sunday).

As Jackson screeched away into the distance, it fell to Callum Grant and fellow Merlyn user Pierre Livingston to provide the action. Both made great starts and it took third-placed Livingston a few laps to get within passing range of the more experienced Grant.

In an echo of Grant’s race one heroics, Livingston pushed past at Coppice, and when Grant retook his second spot, he tried the same move a few laps later and almost made it stick.

Grant established a small but sufficient gap in the closing laps and cemented his second place, despite being unhappy with his car’s performance.

Livingston’s Classic Team Merlyn team-mate Benjamin Tusting was initially passed by Over 50 class leader Rob Smith from fourth on the grid. He then lost another place to Dan Eagling, who like Smith was driving a Merlyn Mk20.

Tusting regained fourth spot, while Eagling just held on to fifth ahead of Danny Stanzl’s Elden.

Smith took his class win in seventh, with Over 50 rival Ted Pearson being denied eighth on the final lap by Matthew Wrigley.

Michael Wrigley was the only retirement after his Lotus 59 spun off track, but swift marshalling meant it did not interrupt the racing.

(Image courtesy of Paul Lawrence)

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1   Cameron Jackson Winkelmann 13 laps
2   Callum Grant Merlyn +6.345
3   Pierre Livingston Merlyn +6.636
4   Benjamin Tusting Merlyn +10.505
5   Dan Eagling Merlyn +18.085
6   Daniel Stanzl Elden +18.949
7 50 Rob Smith Merlyn +20.902
8   Matthew Wrigley Merlyn +23.331
9 50 Ted Pearson Merlyn +23.636
10 50 Brian Morris Lola +36.044
11 50 Tim Brise Merlyn +51.007
12   Ross Drybrough Merlyn +52.786
13 50 Simon Jackson Crossle +59.543
14 50 Kevin Stanzl Merlyn +1:02.680
15   Lee Penson Lotus +1 lap
16 50 Stephen King Macon +1 lap
17 50 Steve Mansell Macon +1 lap
18 50 Louis Hanjoul Elden +1 lap
DNF 50 Michael Wrigley Lotus  

Fastest lap: C Jackson, 1:34.177

Championship standings
1 C Jackson 175   2 Livingston 106   3 Tusting 106   4 Grant 100   5 D Stanzl 73   6 Smith 60   7 Drybrough 45   8 Pearson 43   9 Morris 35   10 Ed Thurston 32

0 comments on “Jackson extends HSCC winning run at Cadwell Park

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: