Heritage MSVR News

Tom Brown claims race one win in shortened Oulton Heritage encounter

Tom Brown secured a dominant victory in a shortened first Zig Zag Lighting Ltd Heritage Formula Ford race at Oulton Park, beating championship leader Oliver White by 8.8 seconds.

Due to a crash in an earlier Mini race, and with extensive repairs needed to the barriers at the Shell Oils hairpin, the shock decision was made to use the shorter Island layout of the Oulton Park circuit.  

The race only ran under green flag conditions for roughly half of its planned 15 minutes, having started behind the safety car due to the revised circuit layout and the wet conditions out on track. The drivers therefore only completed four flying laps, although this was enough for Brown to make his mark.

Brown pulled relentlessly away from White by around two seconds a lap in his Van Diemen RF91, with third place finisher Jaap Blijleven falling back by twice that amount.

Neil Patten managed to come fourth despite a last-lap tangle with the Van Diemen RF92 of Tom Roark. Patten tried to defend an around-the-outside move from Roark, but the two touched wheels, sending Roark into the barriers and out of the race.

This gifted fifth to Neil Hunt in his Mondiale M92S, while Peter Lucas managed to bag sixth at the wheel of his own Van Diemen RF88.

Nick Barnes managed to move from tenth on the grid to seventh just ahead of Andrew Higginbottom’s RF88 Van Diemen, while Sam Street managed to salvage a ninth place finish having spun on the opening lap.

The Swift SC92F pilot looped it at the chicane while pressuring fourth-placed Patten, but fought back well to finish just 0.145s behind Higginbottom.

Christopher Stones rounded out the top ten in his Van Diemen RF88.

Joe Porter did not start the race following his earlier qualifying crash.

Photo courtesy of Wayne Pearson

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Tom Brown Van Diemen RF91 13m12.298s
2 Oliver White Van Diemen RF89 +8.896
3 Jaap Blijleven Reynard 88FF +17.749
4 Neil Patten Van Diemen RF89 +22.860
5 Neil Hunt Mondiale M92S +29.554
6 Peter Lucas Van Dieman RF88 +30.841
7 Nick Barnes Swift RC92F +33.412
8 Andrew Higginbottom Van Diemen RF88 +42.178
9 Sam Street Swift SC92F +42.323
10 Christopher Stones Van Deimen RF88 +46.210
11 Scott Guthrie Crossle 32F +58.513
12 Trevor Morgan Formula Ford +1:01.579
13 Ian Fernihough Swift SC92F +1:02.392
14 Graham Woodin Van Diemen RF90 +1:14:319
15 Colin Williams PRS RH01 +1:15.590
16 Oliver Chapman PRS RH02 +1:15:960
17 David Porter Van Diemen RF92 +1:20.608
18 James Colborn Van Diemen RF89 +1:24.527
DNF Tom Roark Van Diemen RF92
Fastest lap: Brown, 1m49.951s

Championship standings

White 40   2 Blijileven 22   3 Callum Grant 18   4 Brown 15   5 Ted Pearson 11;  5 Joe Porter 11   7 Conor Murphy 10   8 Richard Tarling 8   9 Mark de Rozarieux 7   10 Craig Currie 6

0 comments on “Tom Brown claims race one win in shortened Oulton Heritage encounter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: