Heritage MSVR News

Oliver White beats Tom Brown to race two win after close contest at Oulton

Oliver White won the second Zig Zag Lighting Ltd Heritage Formula Ford race of the weekend at Oulton Park, defeating race one victor Tom Brown in a close battle.

Like the first race, the Island layout of the Oulton Park circuit was used due to extensive damage done to the barriers at the Shell Oils’ hairpin in an earlier Mini race.

Brown led the rolling start following two laps under safety car away from pole following his race one win but came under intense pressure from White’s Van Diemen RF89 shortly after.

White eventually saw his chance when Brown made a small mistake at Lodge corner, allowing him to exit the corner right behind Brown’s Van Diemen RF91. He was then able to draft past around the outside approaching Old Hall, moving into the lead.

Brown never let White escape though, and pressured him all the way to the flag, finishing just 0.360 behind at the flag.

A similarly intense battle was burning a few seconds behind the lead pair, as Neil Patten looked to secure a podium finish to the detriment of Jaap Blijileven. The Dutchman was resolute in his defence and held on to third, despite Patten poking the nose of his RF89 Van Diemen up the inside into Old Hall several times.

Behind the lead battles, Sam Street continued his impressive recovery from race one into the second, moving from ninth on the grid to fifth by the flag.

Nick Barnes and Christopher Stones took sixth and seventh respectively, while Neil Hunt managed another top ten in his Mondiale M92S in eighth.

Scott Guthrie and Andrew Higginbottom rounded out the top ten in their Crossle 32F and Van Diemen RF88 machines.

Peter Lucas, who secured a strong sixth in race one, was forced to retire to the pits in the early stages of the race having visited the gravel on the opening lap.

Joe Porter, who arrived at Oulton joint fourth in the standings, again did not start the race following his heavy crash in qualifying earlier in the day.

White continues to lead the Zig Zag Lighting Limited Heritage Formula Ford Championship standings heading to Snetterton, extending his championship lead to 25 points ahead of Blijileven.

Photo courtesy of Wayne Pearson

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Oliver White Van Diemen RF91 16m00.768s
2 Tom Brown Van Diemen RF89 +0.360
3 Jaap Blijleven Reynard 88FF +10.690
4 Neil Patten Van Diemen RF89 +11.125
5 Sam Street Swift SC92F +27.278
6 Nick Barnes Swift RC92F +27.569
7 Christopher Stones Van Diemen RF88 +32.550
8 Neil Hunt Mondiale M92S +36.367
9 Scott Guthrie Crossle 32F +36.452
10 Andrew Higginbottom Van Diemen RF88 +39.637
11 Trevor Morgan Formula Ford +43.075
12 Graham Woodin Van Diemen RF90 +44.686
13 Colin Williams PRS RH01 +45.152
14 David Porter Van Diemen RF92 +52.022
15 James Colborn Van Diemen RF89 +55.597
16 Ian Fernihough Swift SC92F +55.901
17 Oliver Chapman PRS RH02 +1:08.464
DNF Tom Roark Van Diemen RF92
DNF Peter Lucas Van Dieman RF88
Fastest lap: White, 1m33.328s

Championship standings

White 55   2 Blijileven 30   3 Brown 25   4 Callum Grant 18   5 Patten 14;  6 Ted Pearson 11   6 Joe Porter 11   8 Conor Murphy 10   9 Neil Hunt 9   9 Nick Barnes 9

0 comments on “Oliver White beats Tom Brown to race two win after close contest at Oulton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: