Luke Cooper takes his first Combe win of 2019

Luke Cooper claimed his first CCRC Castle Combe FF1600 Championship sponsored by Melksham Motor Spares win of the season after passing Josh Fisher on track at Quarry.

In the championship’s fourth race of the season, brothers Josh and Felix Fisher finished second and third after a final lap battle to decide the podium order.

Defending champion Cooper started from second but fell behind Felix Fisher on the opening lap.

He regained his second place starting position on lap four of 10, passing Fisher into Quarry to move into second place.

Cooper, driving a Swift SC16, then took advantage of Josh Fisher running wide on the exit of the final corner on lap seven, a fast right-hander, to get a run on the two-time circuit champion into Quarry.

As Cooper was building a gap, the Fisher brothers started to battle.

Felix (Ray GR05) briefly overtook brother Josh into Quarry corner but Josh, driving a Van Diemen JL14, was able to reclaim the position on the final lap.

By finishing ahead, Josh minimised the cut to his championship lead, which now stands at two points over Cooper.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Neil Maclennan finished fourth in the Spectrum 011C he races in the BRSCC National FF1600 championship, with Matt Rivett finishing fifth in his older Van Diemen RF91 and claiming Class B victory in the process.

Although both drivers were part of the front group of five, neither were able to make an impact on the battle for the lead.

Ray duo Chris Acton and Tom Hawkins were sixth and seventh.

Class C winner David Cobbold was eighth, holding off Cooper’s Swift Cooper team-mate Sam Street by just under a second for the position.

Four-time Castle Combe FF1600 champion Bob Higgins celebrated his 70th birthday with 12th place.

Harry Cobbold retired from the race after a single lap, while James Colborn did not start following a qualifying accident where his Van Diemen rolled at the Bobbies chicane.

Photo by Mike Stokes

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 A Luke Cooper Swift 10 laps
2 A Josh Fisher Van Diemen +2.032
3 A Felix Fisher Ray +2.646
4 A Neil Maclennan Spectrum +2.755
5 B Matt Rivett Van Diemen +4.995
6 A Chris Acton Ray +18.726
7 A Tom Hawkins Ray +19.322
8 C David Cobbold Van Diemen +29.878
9 A Sam Street Swift +30.868
10 B Paul Mason Swift +35.015
11 A Matthew Hallam Spectrum +35.147
12 A Bog Higgins Firman +38.369
13 C Steve Bracegirdle Van Diemen +42.410
14 B Alex Rivett Swift +50.180
15 B James Rose Swift +50.908
16 A Kieran Attwood Ray +1:07.455
17 C Michael Phillips Swift +1 lap
DNF A Harry Cobbold Ray
Fastest lap: J Fisher, 1:09.4938

Championship standings
1 J Fisher 84   2 Cooper 82   3 F Fisher 79   4 Hawkins 61   5 Acton 58   6 M Rivett 47   7 Higgins 40   8 D Cobbold 40   9 Hallam 38   10 Roger Orgee 37

1 comment on “Luke Cooper takes his first Combe win of 2019

  1. Francesca Parsons

    Amazing , well done Luke 😁


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: