Josh Fisher and Luke Cooper share Castle Combe poles

Josh Fisher and Luke Cooper will start a race each from pole in the latest CCRC Castle Combe FF1600 Championship sponsored by Melksham Motor Spares round.

Championship leader Fisher set the fastest time of 1m10.239s for Wayne Poole Racing in what was a disrupted qualifying session due to two red flags.

The first red flag came out almost immediately after the session got underway when Kieran Attwood collided with the tyre wall on the pit straight.  

His Ray GR07 was not heavily damaged and he did return to the circuit later in the session, but was unable to set a time before the second red flag ended qualifying early. 

Luke Cooper was second in the session, with a best lap of 1m10.314s, just 0.075s slower than Fisher. Neil Maclennan, who competes in BRSCC National FF1600 for Kevin Mills Racing, was third fastest and a further tenth behind.

Felix Fisher will start race one in fourth place, with 2006 Castle Combe FF1600 champion Matt Rivett lining up behind in fifth place.

Chris Acton was sixth fastest in his Souley Motorsport-ran Ray GR08, and David Cobbold had a strong session setting the seventh fastest time and Class C pole in his Van Diemen RF89. 

Tom Hawkins, Harry Cobblold and Matthew Hallam complete top 10.

Four-time champion Bob Higgins will start in 11th place on his 70th birthday, driving a Firman RFR17. Two positions behind him is Class B poleman Paul Mason in a Swift SC94. 

Cooper will start pole position in race two after setting the best second-fastest time, just edging Maclennan by 0.062s. Fisher brothers Josh and Felix will fill the second row of the grid.

Qualifying round-up Race 1 grid 1 Josh Fisher Van Diemen 1:10.239 2 Luke Cooper Swift +0.075 3 Neil Maclennan Spectrum +0.208 4 Felix Fisher Ray +0.419 5 Matt Rivett Van Diemen +1.116 6 Chris Acton Ray +1.165 7 David Cobbold Van Diemen +2.042 8 Tom Hawkins Ray +2.236 9 Harry Cobbold Ray +2.423 10 Matthew Hallam Spectrum +2.763 Race 2 grid 1 Cooper 1:10.495 2 Maclennan +0.062 3 J Fisher +0.264 4 F Fisher +0.331 5 Acton +1.011 6 M Rivett +1.016 7 D Cobbold +1.811 8 H Cobbold + 2.251 9 Hawkins + 2.318 10 Hallam +2.565 Report by Rob Hansford. Photo by Mike Stokes

0 comments on “Josh Fisher and Luke Cooper share Castle Combe poles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: