500 MRCI News

McCullough and Davidson dice again at Kirkistown

David McCullough extended his lead in the Dawson WAM Northern Ireland FF1600 championship at Kirkistown, as rival Alan Davidson failed to finish a race.

McCullough and Davidson fought hard in the first race of the weekend, which Davidson made hard for himself by being overtaken by Will Herron and Scott Finlay early on.

He only reclaimed second with three laps to go of the 16 lap race but had been stronger on pace throughout and he quickly closed the gap to the leader. On the final lap he pulled alongside his rival, but ended up 0.098 seconds short of victory.

Herron completed the podium just a few tenths further back, with Finlay dropping several seconds in fourth.

Davidson only lasted six laps of the second race, but did get a crucial point with fastest lap, as McCullough coasted to an easy win.

Van Diemen drivers Herron and Finlay were once again the next main players, with Herron picking second off his rival with five laps to go. In the closing laps it was Finlay who was faster though, and he got within 0.065s of second place.

One driver who had an especially difficult weekend was Cameron Fenton, who starred with Team Dolan at the Walter Hayes Trophy last year.

The Irish teenager failed to start either race, continuing his troublesome season. He can at least look forward to returning to his day job at the Mondello Park circuit in Ireland.

Results round-up

Race one
Pos Driver Car Gap
1 David McCullough Van Diemen 16 laps
2 Alan Davidson Mondiale +0.098
3 Will Herron Van Diemen +0.437
4 Scott Finlay Van Diemen +8.875
5 Andrew Blair Reynard +23.643
6 David Nicholl Reynard +37.041
7 Henry Campbell Reynard +40.914
8 Jim Campbell Mondiale +57.770
9 Robert Johnston Van Diemen +1 lap
10 Allan McBurney Van Diemen +1 lap
Pole: McCullough, 1:01.297      Fastest lap: Davidson, 1:01.209

Race two
Pos Driver Car Gap
1 David McCullough Van Diemen 16 laps
2 Will Herron Van Diemen +5.738
3 Scott Finlay Van Diemen +5.803
4 Andrew Blair Reynard +14.292
5 David Nicholl Reynard +25.861
6 Henry Campbell Reynard +33.875
7 Jim Campbell Mondiale +57.179
8 Robert Johnston Van Diemen +1:04.163
DNF Alan Davidson Mondiale
DNF Allan McBurney Van Diemen
FL: Davidson, 1:01.876
Championship standings
1 McCullough 114  2 Davidson 86  3 Herron 76  4 Finlay 52  5 Blair 38  6 H Campbell 24  7 Nicholl 21  8 Chris Paul 16  9 McBurney 14  10 J Campbell 12

0 comments on “McCullough and Davidson dice again at Kirkistown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: