Historic News

Jackson pips Livingston to Silverstone race two win by 0.086s

Cameron Jackson was made to work hard for his ninth HSCC Historic Formula Ford win on the bounce, fending off two Classic Team Merlyn drivers crossing the finish line.

Jackson had only retaken the lead on the final lap from Pierre Livingston, who finished second, and third-placed Ed Thurston.

The two leading Classic Team Merlyn drivers surrounded Jackson and tried to out-drag him on the line, but Jackson prevailed by a tiny 0.086s margin.

Those three drivers had fought doggedly among themselves for the lead for most of the race, with the relatively inexperienced Livingston repeatedly inching ahead from the third lap onwards.

Thurston made an ambitious move for the race lead around the outside at Brooklands, taking Jackson by surprise and turning the race into a three-way battle.

Though Thurston would briefly take the lead himself during the sixth tour of the circuit, he was overthrown by Jackson on the penultimate lap, with Livingston cleverly latching on to Jackson’s tow to pass his team-mate at the same time.

Ben Tusting was at the back end of the Classic Team Merlyn pack in fourth, although he did capitalise on Thurston and Jackson’s scrapping to hit the front for a while near the end.

Silverstone race one polesitter Callum Grant had been a victory contender the day before but suffered a poor start, only to retire early on with throttle cable problems.

Danny Stanzl was a fairly lonely but comfortable fifth in his Elden Mk8 after a consistent race.

Ross Drybrough was much more at home on a dry track; he had spun more than once during the wet Saturday race but a clean run in race two meant he was able to move from 13th to seventh.

Radio Caroline Over 50 leader Rob Smith was close behind in his Merlyn Mk20, ahead of William Nuthall, Ted Pearson and Matthew Wrigley.

Photo courtesy of Paul Lawrence.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Cameron Jackson Winkelmann WDF2 9 laps
2 Pierre Livingston Merlyn Mk20A +0.086
3 Ed Thurston Merlyn Mk20A +0.219
4 Benjamin Tusting Merlyn Mk20A +0.407
5 Daniel Stanzl Elden Mk8 +16.089
6 Ross Dryborough Merlyn Mk20 AS +16.870
7 50 Rob Smith Merlyn Mk20 +17.166
8 William Nuthall Jamun T2 +18.674
9 50 Ted Pearson Merlyn Mk11/17 +18.690
10 Matthew Wrigley Merlyn Mk11A/20 +19.040
11 Michael Grant Peterkin Brabham BT21 +29.316
12 50 Brian Morris Lola T202 +30.817
13 Antony Ross Lola T204 +39.305
14 50 Timothy Brise Merlyn Mk20 +39.441
15 Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle 16F +40.130
16 50 Greg Thornton Titan Mk3/4 +1:04.437
17 50 Dick Dixon Lotus 61 +1:05.263
18 50 John Roberts Merlyn Mk11A +1:10.828
19 50 Christopher Sharples Palliser WDF1 +1:11.369
20 50 John Slack Lola T200 +1:12.026
21 50 Alex Meek Merlyn Mk20A +1:13.038
22 50 Louis Hanjoul Elden Mk8/10 +1:14.142
23 50 Andrew Mansell Merlyn Mk11A +1:18.304
24 50 Stephen King Macon MR8 +1:19.214
25 50 Michael Wales Merlyn Mk20A +1:20.697
26 Lee Penson Lotus 51A +1:25.096
27 50 Rudolf Ernst Titan Mk6 +1:26.867
28 50 Paul Unsworth Palliser WDF3 +1:40.551
29 50 Stephen Mansell Macon MR8 +1:42.056
30 Kit Lawson Lotus 31 +1:45.639
31 50 Nick Arden Merlyn Mk11A +2:32.186
DNF 50 Stuart Dix Cooper Chinook
DNF Callum Grant Merlyn Mk20A
DNS 50 Michael Richings Alexis Mk15
DNS Cormac Flanagan Alexis Mk14

0 comments on “Jackson pips Livingston to Silverstone race two win by 0.086s

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: