BRSCC National News

Martin claims race two win as Clarke makes stirring comeback

Ross Martin claimed his first Avon Tyres BRSCC National FF1600 win of the season at Oulton Park as James Clarke stormed from the back of the grid to finish third.

The two-time Scottish FF1600 champion took the lead on the opening lap from race one winner Jonathan Browne and, despite resisting early pressure from championship rival Spike Kohlbecker, claimed a comfortable win.

Despite dropping to fourth early on, Browne recovered to finish in second, 2.287s behind Team Dolan’s Martin.

Cliff Dempsey Racing team-mate James Clarke had a strong race from the back of the grid following his crash in race one,  finishing in third, a further 2.8s behind.

Spike Kohlbecker finished in fourth behind his two team-mates after an incident at Knickerbrook,  which also resulted in Team-Dolan’s Jamie Sharp retiring from the race having ran with the lead group early on.

Neil Maclennan finished fifth, while Kevin Mills Racing teammate Michael Macpherson finished in 11th after an early spin at Lodge Corner.

Brendon Leigh again finished as best rookie in sixth, 0.186s behind his team-mate, with fellow rookie Morgan Quinn finishing seventh.

Max Marzorati won the Clubman class after a late overtake on race one class-winner Nigel Dolan. The pair finished eighth and ninth overall.

B-M Racing’s Rory Smith did not start the race after his engine issues in race one, while rookie team-mate Nicole Woods finished in 13th place.

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 P Ross Martin Van Diemen 11 laps
2 P Jonathan Browne Ray +2.287
3 P James Clarke Ray +5.115
4 P Spike Kohlbecker Ray +5.724
5 P Neil Maclennan Spectrum +9.969
6 P Brendon Leigh Spectrum +10.155
7 P Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +22.554
8 C Max Marzorati Van Diemen +24.255
9 C Nigel Dolan Van Diemen +25.402
10 P Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen +29.486
11 P Michael Macpherson Spectrum +36.385
12 P Scott Huntley Van Diemen +54.163
13 P Nicole Woods Van Diemen +1:02.730
DNF P Jamie Sharp Van Diemen  
Fastest lap: Clarke, 1:47.937

Championship standings

Martin 141   2 Kohlbecker 129   3 Maclennan 122   4 Browne 111   5 Clarke 76   6 Sharp 72   7 Macpherson 70   8 Quinn 56   9 Rory Smith 54   10 Huntley 41
1 Marzorati 162   2 John Svensson 86   3 Adam Quartermaine 70   4 Pascal Monbaron 68   5 Dolan 61   6 Woods 42   7 Klaus-Dieter Haeckel 39   8 Sam Street 38   9 Henry Chart 17

0 comments on “Martin claims race two win as Clarke makes stirring comeback

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: