Josh Fisher resists Cooper pressure to win third Castle Combe race

Josh Fisher took a hard-fought victory from Luke Cooper in Round 3 of the Castle Combe Racing Club FF1600 Championship sponsored by Melksham Motor Spares at Castle Combe race circuit.

Front row starter Josh Fisher jumped polesitter Felix Fisher off the line into a lead he would not relinquish. Cooper dropped to fourth initially, however, he was back into third by the end of the first lap.

The top three stayed together until the second lap in which Felix Fisher dropped behind Cooper and lost over 2.5s to the front two.

Josh Fisher kept Cooper behind for the rest of the race, however, the gap between the two was never more than a second.

Cooper closed in on the last lap but was unable to pass and finished behind Josh Fisher by just 0.181s after 15 laps.

Felix Fisher was able to chase the leading two down to just over a second however was caught in traffic on the final lap and finished a comfortable third.

Thomas McArthur jumped from seventh to fifth on the first lap and took fourth place from Chris Acton on lap 4. They battled hard for the rest of the race with McArthur coming out on top by 0.170s.

Double Formula 1 Esports champion Brendon Leigh retired on lap 7 along with Michael Phillips after both had unrelated issues.

Tom Hawkins took a lonely sixth with Bob Higgins and Matthew Hallam following in seventh and eighth.

Shaun Macklin finished ninth on the road whilst also taking Class B honours. Steve Bracegirdle rounded off the top 10 and took the Class C victory.

James Colborn and Alex Rivett, both lapped, finished 11th and 12th after a race long battle and were the last of the classified runners.

James Rose and Alan Slater both failed to start after picking up damage from qualifying and a suspected engine problem respectively.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Josh Fisher Van Diemen 15 laps
2 A Luke Cooper Swift +0.181
3 A Felix Fisher Ray +1.761
4 A Tom McArthur Van Diemen +26.483
5 A Chris Acton Ray +26.653
6 A Tom Hawkins Ray +33.571
7 A Bob Higgins Firman +42.351
8 A Matthew Hallam Spectrum +52.951
9 B Shaun Macklin Swift +1:01.279
10 C Steve Bracegirdle Van Diemen +1:14.336
11 C James Colborn Van Diemen +1 lap
12 B Alex Rivett Swift +1 lap
DNF A Brendon Leigh Spectrum 7 laps
DNF C Michael Phillips Swift 7 laps

Fastest lap: Felix Fisher, 1:09.932

Championship standings (Overall)
Josh Fisher 63   2 Felix Fisher 61  3 Cooper 59  4 Hawkins 46   5 Acton 43  6 Orgee 37   7 Matt Rivett 31   8 Higgins 30

0 comments on “Josh Fisher resists Cooper pressure to win third Castle Combe race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: