Classic News

Tinkler wins second Classic FF1600 race at Castle Combe with last-lap pass

Ben Tinkler made it two Luna Logistics Classic FF1600 Championship wins out of two at Castle Combe after edging out Jordan Harrison following a last-lap pass.

Harrison, driving a Lola TS40E, started at the back of the grid following a brake issue that put him out of the opening race. As the second race is decided on the order of the first, Harrison started at the back of the grid.

He had moved up to fourth during the opening lap while Tinkler, who started from pole in his Van Diemen RF80, had lost the lead to Tim Harvey(Van Diemen RF81).

The lead exchanged hands between Tinkler and Harvey over the next couple of laps before Tinkler held it until the fifth lap.

Harrison had then taken the lead and held it until the final lap when Tinkler made his move into Quarry and took the lead.

Jack Elleker

Morris also started started towards the back and fought his way through to finish third. He was in the lead battle until the last lap when he lost time trying to lap David Lowe (Lotus 69FF) and finished 2.807s behind Tinkler.

Harvey finished in fourth despite leading in the early stages of the race, beating Kevin Mansell (Crossle 32F) by 11 seconds.

Mark Armstrong finished in sixth place in his Van Diemen RF80 ahead of Colin Williams. Williams, competing in a PRS RH01, beat Steve Pearce (Van Diemen RF80) by less than a second with Pearce finishing eighth.

Kevin Stanzl finished ninth and was the class B winner in his Merlyn Mk20 with Oliver Chapman in 10th.

David Lowe finished in 11th place and a lap down with Richaed Yeomans (Crossle25F) in 12th. Stuart Kestenbaum pitted his Van Diemen RF79 after 10 laps with Simon Clews also retiring from the race on the same lap.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Ben Tinkler Van Diemen 16 laps
2 A Jordan Harrison Lola +0.277
3 A Rick Morris Royale +2.807
4 A TIm Harvey Van Diemen +3.566
5 A Kevin Mansell Crossle +14.775
6 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen +22.347
7 A Colin Williams PRS +28.808
8 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen +29.605
9 B Kevin Stanzl Merlyn +32.606
10 A Oliver Chapman PRS +43.773
11 B David Lowe Lotus +1 lap
12 A Richard Yeomans Crossle +1 lap
DNF A Staurt Kestenbaum Van Diemen +6 laps
DNF A Simon Clews Royale +6 laps

0 comments on “Tinkler wins second Classic FF1600 race at Castle Combe with last-lap pass

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: