Classic News

Tinkler victorious at Castle Combe, Morris and Needell collide

Ben Tinkler claimed victory in the opening race of the Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford 1600 Championship at Castle Combe, after a race-long battle with Rick Morris, Tiff Needell and Kevin Mansell.

Tinkler started with no one alongside him on the front row after polesitter Jordan Harrison was unable to take the start due to a brake issue.

Morris (Royale RP29) got the better start of the leading four and pulled out a gap of 2.6 seconds to Tinkler in a Van Diemen RF80 by lap six of 16.

Needell – driving a Lotus 69F – was able to pass Tinkler as they battled for second place before Tinkler re-passed him a couple of laps later.

Tinkler started to gain on Morris and eventually was able to take over the lead in the latter stages of the race, with Morris falling into the clutches of Needell.

The pair battled until the penultimate lap of the race when they collided at Quarry, allowing Mansell – who had been running fourth – to take second place and 1992 BTCC Champion Tim Harvey to claim third.

Harvey had started in 10th place but fought his way through the field to fifth when Morris and Needell collided on lap 15.

Stuart Kestenbaum, driving a Van Diemen RF79, came home in fourth place with Mark Armstrong fifth in his Van Diemen RF80.

PRS RH01 pairing Colin Williams and Oliver Chapman finished seventh and eighth respectively, ahead of Kevin Stanzl (Merlyn Mk20) and David Lowe (Lotus 69FF).

Richard Yeomans was the last of the runners, finishing just 0.251s behind Lowe in his Crossle 25F.

Lowe and Yeomans had been battling throughout the latter stages of the race with Yeomans gradually closing the gap during the race.

Morris and Needell were classified 12th and 13th, with class B guest driver Tim Brise last after only completing one lap.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Ben Tinkler Van Diemen 20:08.297
2 A Kevin Mansell Crossle +6.416
3 A Tim Harvey Van Diemen +9.920
4 A Stuart Kestenbaum Van Diemen +12.121
5 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen +12.339
6 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen +27.155
7 A Colin Williams PRS +30.545
8 A Oliver Chapman PRS +30.961
9 B Kevin Stanzl Merlyn +1 Lap
10 B David Lowe Lotus +1 Lap
11 A Richard Yeomans Crossle +1 Lap
12 A Rick Morris Royale +2 Laps
13 B Tiff Needell Lotus +2 Laps
DNF G Tim Brise Merlyn  

1 comment on “Tinkler victorious at Castle Combe, Morris and Needell collide

  1. Peter Hackett

    Another excellent report with only one small error . Oli Chapman finished 8 behind his uncle Colin Williams


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: