Classic News

Jordan Harrison grabs late Classic pole at Castle Combe

Jordan Harrison put in a late charge to secure pole position in the Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford 1600 Championship, beating Ben Tinkler by almost three tenths.

Harrison – driving in a Lola T540E – posted a time of 1m13.409s to claim pole position with Tinkler (Van Diemen RF80) joining him on the front row of the grid.

Kevin Mansell was half-a-second behind Tinkler in his Crossle 32F with Rick Morris in fourth, while Tiff Needell was the quickest of the class B competitors after qualifying fifth.

In the early stages of the session Morris set the pace ahead of Tinkler and Needell, before Tinkler overhauled Morris by 0.003s.

Morris had posted a time of 1m17.414s to set the pace before he was overhauled by Tinkler and then Needell – both posting times in the 1m15s bracket.

All three then improved again but were unable to prevent Harrison taking pole position.

Stuart Kestenbaum was sixth in his Van Diemen RF79 after edging out Mark Armstrong, in a Van Diemen RF80, by 0.040s.

Oliver Chapman qualified eighth in his PRS RH01 with Steve Pearce, in his Van Dieme RF81, just behind in ninth place.

Tim Harvey, who won the 1992 BTCC Championship, rounded off the top 10 for race one in his Van Diemen RF81 after beating Colin Williams by 0.5s

Two Merlyn Mk20 drivers – Kevin Stanzl and Tim Brise – were 12th and 13th after beating David Lowe (Lotus 69 FF) and Richard Yeomans (Crossle 25F).

Simon Clews will line up 16th after suffering a mechanical issue six laps into qualifying where he slowed on the start-finish straight.

Ben Hadfield did not set a time in qualifying and will start last.


Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Jordan Harrison Lola 1:13.409
2 A Ben Tinkler Van Diemen +0.275
3 A Kevin Mansell Crossle +0.754
4 A Rick Morris Royale +1.197
5 B Tiff Needell Lotus +1.360
6 A Stuart Kestenbaum Van Diemen +1.448
7 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen +1.488
8 A Oliver Chapman PRS +2.003
9 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen +2.075
10 A Tim Harvey Van Diemen +2.460
11 A Colin Williams PRS +2.980
12 B Kevin Stanzl Merlyn +3.200
13 G Tim Brise Merlyn +3.322
14 B David Lowe Lotus +4.834
15 A Richard Yeomans Crossle +6.712
16 A Simon Clews Royale +10.178
17 A Ben Hadfield Van Diemen  

1 comment on “Jordan Harrison grabs late Classic pole at Castle Combe

  1. Peter Hackett

    Excellent report and posted before TSL have got there act together well done .


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: