BRSCC National News

Maclennan holds off Martin to win National FF1600 race three

Neil Maclennan fought off huge pressure from Ross Martin to take victory in race three of the 2019 Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship season opener at Snetterton.

The race got underway with leading Clubman driver Max Marzorati keeping hold of the lead after starting from pole, while Brendon Leigh’s difficult day took another turn for the worse as he struggled to get away from the grid down in 17th.

Marzorati was only able to hold off those behind him for so long, as Maclennan made his way past him along with Martin.

Kohlbecker ran wide at the exit of Murray’s coming to the third lap allowing CDR teammates Clarke and Jonathan Browne to close right in, setting up a back-and-forth battle for the final podium position for the rest of the race.

Marzorati’s stint at the front came to an end on lap four of eight, spinning into Agostini and holding up the recovery drive of Rory Smith, who had made his way up into the top 10 after a complete rebuild of his car between races two and three.

Martin was able to close right up to Maclennan on the penultimate lap – setting a lap record around Snetterton in the process. Despite the huge pressure on the final lap from Martin, Maclennan held on to first, taking Kevin Mills Racing’s first podium of the opening weekend.

While the American rookie had the upper hand for much of the race, Kohlbecker finally had to relinquish third to teammate Clarke after he made a move into the final corner on the penultimate lap.

Rory Smith’s recovery efforts landed him sixth after having started the race down in 15th while John Svennson won in the Clubman class with an eighth place, finishing over a second ahead of pole-sitter Mazorati in ninth.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P Neil Maclennan Spectrum 8 Laps
2 P Ross Martin Van Diemen +0.115
3 P James Clarke Ray +5.726
4 P Spike Kohlbecker Ray +5.850
5 P Jonathan Browne Ray +8.722
6 P Rory Smith Medina +10.474
7 P Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +15.681
8 C John Svensson Van Diemen +23.546
9 C Max Marzorati Van Diemen +25.188
10 P Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +40.060
11 C Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +42.141
12 C Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +47.530
13 P Nicole Woods Van Diemen +59.667
14 P Scott Huntley Van Diemen +1:02.445
15 P Michael Macpherson Spectrum +1 Lap
DNF P Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen
DNF C Henry Chart Van Diemen
DNF C Sam Street Swift
DNF C Klaus-Dieter Haeckel Van Diemen
DNF P Brendon Leigh Spectrum

0 comments on “Maclennan holds off Martin to win National FF1600 race three

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: