BRSCC National News

Kohlbecker gets maiden National FF1600 win in shortened race

American rookie Spike Kohlbecker picked up his maiden win in the Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship in a shortened second race at Snetterton.

Kohlbecker fought off Ross Martin and Neil Maclennan in a five-minute dash for the flag after several safety cars and then a red flag shortened the race.

Race two began with drama before the cars even moved off the line with race one winner Rory Smith not able to take his pole position and having to start from the pits.

It wasn’t long into the first racing lap when a safety car neutralised the field to recover the B-M Racing car of Nicole Woods, the rookie coming to a stop on the Bentley straight.

The restart didn’t last much longer in comparison as FF1600 rookie and F1 Esports champion Brendon Leigh span into the barriers, which brought out the red flags.

That meant the race was cut to just five minutes due to the time lost to recover Leigh’s car and one of the two Oldfield Motorsport cars that had also come to a halt.

Kohlbecker was set to make amends for missing out on the win in race one but Martin and Maclennan kept close company, so much so that Team Dolan driver Martin was able to squeeze past into Brundle.

The CDR man wouldn’t be denied, forcing Martin to outbrake himself into the turn two hairpin allowing the American to get back through.

A recovering Rory Smith’s day came to a premature end after tagging the back of Morgan Quinn coming onto the main straight, taking out both drivers in the process.

With the run to the line still covered by yellow flags, Martin couldn’t get past Kohlbecker and he settled for second place, with Maclennan completing the podium in third.

James Clarke made a miraculous recovery from 19th to finish fourth, while Max Marzorati took the Clubman class win in eighth place.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P Spike Kohlbecker Ray 3 laps
2 P Ross Martin Van Diemen +0.122
3 P Neil Maclennan Spectrum +0.488
4 P James Clarke Ray +4.739
5 P Michael Macpherson Spectrum +4.783
6 P Jonathan Browne Ray +5.561
7 P Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +6.051
8 C Max Marzorati Van Diemen +6.437
9 C John Svensson Van Diemen +12.924
10 C Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +16.158
11 C Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +26.835
12 P Scott Huntley Van Diemen +29.766
13 C Sam Street Swift +30.072
14 C Klaus-Dieter Haeckel Van Diemen +41.654
DNF P Rory Smith Medina
DNF P Morgan Quinn Van Diemen
DNF P Brendon Leigh Spectrum
DNF P Aaron Jeansonne Van Diemen
DNF C Nicole Woods Van Diemen
DNF C Henry Chart Van Diemen
FL: Kohlbecker, 2:02.218

Championship standings

Kohlbecker 61   2 Martin 53   3 Maclennan 46   4 Macpherson 38   5 Sharp 37   6 Smith 34   7 Browne 30   8 Clarke 24   9 Quinn 17   10 Huntley 15
1 Marzorati 70   2 Svensson 54   3 Quartermaine 46   4 Monbaron 46   5 Haeckel 36   6 Street 35   7 Woods 22   8 Chart 14

0 comments on “Kohlbecker gets maiden National FF1600 win in shortened race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: