Champion of Brands News

White secures pole for opening Champion of Brands race

Oliver White has secured pole position for the opening Champions of Brands race at Donington Park after an early battle with Rory Smith.

White, who dominated yesterday’s Zig Zag Lighting Heritage Formula Ford round at the same circuit, topped the session over early leader Smith with four minutes to go, before improving his time even further on the following lap.

B-M Racing’s Smith – who impressed with a pole and race victory at the BRSCC Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford 1600 championship at Oulton Park yesterday – improved on his best time in the final seconds of the session, but still finished 0.139 seconds shy of White in second.

Thomas Cappezzone was another to shine in qualifying after finishing third fastest, 0.083 seconds slower than Smith.

Tom McArthur, also driving for B-M Racing, was fourth fastest. His brother David qualified in sixth with the pair sandwiching reigning Castle Combe FF1600 champion Luke Cooper in fifth.

Henry Chart finished seventh fastest after looking impressive early on in the session.

Qualifying behind Chart was PW Racing’s Max Marzorati in eighth, ahead of two-time Castle Coombe FF1600 champion Adam Higgins.

Another notable performance was that of Young Racing Driver Academy member Abbie Munro, who impressed on her single-seater racing debut by qualifying 10th for Oldfield Motorsport.

Photo courtesy of Wayne Pearson.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Oliver White Van Diemen 1:14.471
2 Rory Smith Medina +0.139
3 Thomas Cappezzone Swift +0.222
4 Thomas McArthur Van Diemen +0.323
5 Luke Cooper Swift +0.484
6 David McArthur Medina +0.603
7 Henry Chart Van Diemen +0.703
8 Max Marzorati Van Diemen +1.023
9 Adam Higgins Firman +1.653
10 Abbie Munro Van Diemen +1.914
11 Jaap Blijeven Reynard +2.138
12 Craig Currie Van Diemen +2.166
13 Paul Mason Swift +2.183
14 Adam Fathers Ray +2.601
15 Jack Kemp Ray +2.809
16 Mark de Rozarieux Van Diemen +2.912
17 Jason Down Mygale +3.365
18 Scott Guthrie Crossle +4.293
19 Don Boyack Van Diemen +4.728
20 Neil Hunt Mondiale +4.735
21 Nicole Woods Van Diemen +5.113
22 Simon Pruce Reynard +9.832
23 Andrew Clark Van Diemen +11.215

0 comments on “White secures pole for opening Champion of Brands race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: