Champion of Brands News

Smith claims Champion of Brands with Donington win

Rory Smith has claimed the Champion of Brands crown after winning the first of two races at the opening round of the year at Donington Park.

The B-M Racing driver, who won the second race of the BRSCC Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford 1600 championship at Oulton Park yesterday, passed poleman Oliver White on the second lap just before a lengthy safety car period.

The race resumed with just over three minutes to go, with Smith holding on to take the victory despite a close five-way lead battle until the finish.

White – who dominated yesterday’s Zig Zag Lighting Heritage Formula Ford round at Donington Park – initially led away from pole at the start but was unable to reclaim the lead after Smith had passed him, leading to a second place finish.

Tom McArthur also finished on the podium for B-M Racing ahead of reigning Castle Combe FF1600 champion Luke Cooper, after both drivers passed Thomas Cappezzone – who finished in fifth – at the start.

Cappezone broke the FF1600 lap record at Donington Park during the race, with a fastest lap of 1m 14.061s.

Behind the top five, there was an equally thrilling three-way battle. Oldfield Motorsport’s Henry Chart held off Adam Higgins and David McArthur to finish sixth, despite the three drivers going side by side into Redgate on the final lap.

Jack Kemp finished a further four seconds back in ninth, after making up six places at the start, with Paul Mason finishing 0.2 seconds behind in 10th after a late tussle with Adam Fathers.

After starting from 10th, Young Racing Driver Academy member Abbie Munro eventually finished her first single-seater race in 14th.

Max Marzorati and Jaap Blijleven failed to finish after they crashed at the chicane at the end of the first lap, which brought out the safety car.

Photo courtesy of Wayne Pearson.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Rory Smith Medina 15:06.106
2 Oliver White Van Diemen +0.270
3 Tom McArthur Van Diemen +0.874
4 Luke Cooper Swift +1.172
5 Thomas Cappezzone Swift +1.418
6 Henry Chart Van Diemen +7.676
7 Adam Higgins Firman +7.834
8 David McArthur Medina +8.445
9 Jack Kemp Ray +12.734
10 Paul Mason Swift +12.956
11 Adam Fathers Ray +13.468
12 Craig Currie Van Diemen +16.008
13 Scott Guthrie Crossle +18.469
14 Abbie Munro Van Diemen +20.255
15 Mark de Rozarieux Van Diemen +22.540
16 Neil Hunt Mondiale +23.353
17 Don Boyack Van Diemen +24.066
18 Nicole Woods Van Diemen +31.759
19 Andrew Clark Van Diemen +39.971
20 Simon Pruce Reynard +1 Lap
21 Jason Down Mygale DNF
22 Max Marzorati Van Diemen DNF
23 Jaap Blijleven Reynard DNF

0 comments on “Smith claims Champion of Brands with Donington win

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: