Heritage News

White doubles Heritage win tally at Donington

Oliver White capped off a dominant display in the inaugural round of the Zig Zag Lighting Heritage Formula Ford championship at Donington Park after taking a second race victory.

The Van Diemen RF89 pilot didn’t have it all his own way however as he made another bad start from pole, slipping to third as he did in the first race. He quickly recovered to the lead by the end of the first lap however, as drama ensued behind him.

Conor Murphy, who took the lead into the first corner, went off at the final chicane on lap one, getting beached in the outside gravel trap in the process. With the Mondiale stuck-fast, the safety car was called into action.

White led the field away once the safety car had pulled in and steadily extended his advantage over Grant in second, eventually securing victory by just over a second.

Richard Tarling, who after starting 23rd following his race one mechanical issue, had moved all the way up to sixth place on the first lap before the safety car period.

He then made a great restart to quickly make his way up to third, although wasn’t able to make any headway on the two leaders and settled for the final spot on the podium.

Jaap Blijeven capped off a solid weekend in fourth position, edging David Porter across the line for the position by just 0.178s.

Craig Currie improved on his race one result to take sixth in his Van Diemen RF88, while seventh went the way of Mark de Rozarieux.

Rounding out the top 10 positions were the Merlyn MK11A-17 of Matthew Wrigley, Andrew Higginbottom’s RF88 Van Diemen and Graham Woodin in his own Van Diemen RF90.

Photo courtesy of Wayne Pearson

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1   Oliver White Van Diemen 16:01.001
2   Callum Grant Van Diemen +1.187
3   Richard Tarling Jamun +4.493
4   Jaap Blijeven Reynard +11.399
5   Joe Porter Van Diemen +11.577
6   Ted Pearson Merlyn +13.981
7   Craig Currie Van Diemen +23.196
8   Mark De Rozarieux Van Diemen +26.696
9   Matthew Wrigley Merlyn +27.040
10   Andrew Higginbottom Van Diemen +30.256
11   Graham Woodin Van Diemen +36.336
12   Scott Guthrie Crossle +36.620
13   Neil Hunt Van Diemen +38.706
14   Christopher Stones Van Diemen +39.923
15   Don Boyack Van Diemen +54.293
16   Ian Fernihough Swift +54.459
17   David Porter Van Diemen +1:12.977
18   David Roark Van Diemen +1:19.593
19   George Ditchfield Van Diemen +1:19.992
20   Alan Slater Nike +1 Lap
21   Simon Pruce Reynard +1 Lap
22   Nigel Tye Swift +2 Laps
23   George McDonald Jamun DNF
24   Conor Murphy Mondiale DNF

0 comments on “White doubles Heritage win tally at Donington

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: