News Northern

Martin takes victory in close opening race at Oulton Park

Ross Martin claimed victory in a close opening race of the BRSCC Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford Championship at Oulton Park for Team Dolan.

The two-time Scottish Formula Ford 1600 champion beat poleman Rory Smith off the line to lead into Old Hall Corner and until the finish, despite Smith pushing him all the way and finishing just 0.075 seconds behind in second place.

The race featured a three-way lead battle throughout, with Martin successfully defending the inside line into Old Hall several times as Smith tried to move alongside, with Jack Wolfenden – who finished third in the Myerscough College run Firman RFR17 – following close behind.

Jamie Sharp snatched fourth place for Team Dolan, passing B-M Racing’s David McArthur on the penultimate lap after a race-long battle, with McArthur finishing fifth.

Morgan Quinn finished in sixth place for Team Dolan after overtaking B-M Racing’s Neil McArthur in the closing stages.

Andrew Schofield won the Super Classic B class after finishing ninth overall ahead of closest rival Juicie Bruceie, who finished second in class and 12th overall.

Seamus Wild and Phil Nelson, the sole runners in Super Classic A and Super Classic D respectively, finished in 13th and 14th places.

Tom McArthur did not start the race for B-M Racing after a crash early into qualifying kept his car in the garage.

As a result of his win, Ross Martin will start on pole position for the second Northern FF1600 race later in the day.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P Ross Martin Van Diemen 15:26.301
2 P Rory Smith Medina +0.075
3 P Jack Wolfenden Firman +0.303
4 P Jamie Sharp Van Diemen +2.378
5 P David McArthur Medina +3.289
6 P Morgan Quinn Van Diemen +16.499
7 P Nigel Dolan Van Diemen +20.232
8 P Neil McArthur Van Diemen +20.522
9 SCB Andrew Schofield Reynard +46.871
10 P Adam Quartermaine Van Diemen +53.135
11 P Nicole Woods Van Diemen +1:05.106
12 SCB Juiceie Bruceie Reynard +1:15.158
13 SCA Seamus Wild Swift +1:18.254
14 SCD Phil Nelson Hawke +1:19.255
15 SCB Trevor Morgan Reynard +1:19.351
16 SCB Partick Humphreys Van Diemen +1:21.286
17 SCB Nick Barnes Swift +1:27.118
18 SCB Richard Ketterman Reynard +1 Lap
19 SCB Steve Nixon Van Diemen +1 Lap
20 SCB Simon Fraser Van Diemen +1 Lap

0 comments on “Martin takes victory in close opening race at Oulton Park

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: