Classic News

Morris takes second Classic win at Silverstone ahead of Harvey

Rick Morris completed a perfect weekend with victory in the second Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford race at Silverstone, while Tim Harvey recovered from a poor start to take second.

Having already scored pole position in qualifying for race one and taken victory earlier in the day, Morris started from pole for race two.

But Morris was quickly and narrowly overtaken by his fellow classic-era driver John Village early on, driving a Crossle. The pair were soon joined by FF1600 returnee Tim Harvey’s Van Diemen and it would have been a truly old-school podium, had fate not intervened.

Morris’s Royale began to run slowly at the very end of the race but he was lucky to be far enough ahead to keep his lead. Village’s car also developed problems within a few laps of the start and he retired to the pits, promoting Harvey to second.

Harvey had another indifferent start but was back on the pace much more quickly this time, having dropped to fifth.

Mark Armstrong, piloting a Van Diemen RF80, was another driver who could not quite capitalise on a good grid position, who like Harvey had dropped back fifth place before recovering.

Armstrong bided his time behind Tom Brown, who was in third when his car started to sound very rough and he lost speed. Brown retained fifth place in the end but was passed by Armstrong and then Stuart Kestenbaum.

Kestenbaum was another one whose patience paid off, and who inhabited the pivotal fifth place for several laps. He was locked in a struggle with Kevin Mansell in front but was gifted the position when Mansell retired. He then avoided trouble and overhauled the struggling Brown for fourth.

Adrian Reynard had to start at the back due to a late disqualification for the opener and he was making impressive progress through the field when disaster struck. The suspension on his self-built car collapsed and sent him into the gravel from eighth place, on the seventh lap.

Series debutant Oliver Chapman was eighth behind fellow PRS driver Paul Britten in sixth and seventh-placed Mark Harrison, whose Lola needed last minute repairs to make the grid.

Champman was followed by another PRS, driven by Colin Williams, and the Van Diemen of Paul Crosbie to complete the top 10. There were no class B finishers.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 A Rick Morris Royale 17 laps
2 A Tim Harvey Van Deimen +0.962
3 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen +1.164
4 A Stuart Kestenbaum Van Diemen +12.236
5 A Tom Brown Van Diemen +24.432
6 A Paul Britten PRS +32.699
7 A Mark Harrison Lola +37.850
8 A Oliver Chapman PRS +46.351
9 A Colin Williams PRS +47.585
10 A Paul Crosbie Van Diemen +1:06.973
11 A David Malpas Van Diemen +1:09.660
12 A Richard Yeomans Crossle +1 lap
13 A Ben Hadfield Van Diemen +1 lap
14 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen +4 laps
DNF A Terry Durdin Crossle
DNF A Kevin Mansell Crossle
DNF B Adrian Reynard Reynard
DNF A John Village Crossle
DNF A Martin Whitlock PRS
Fastest lap: Morris, 1:14.238

1 comment on “Morris takes second Classic win at Silverstone ahead of Harvey

  1. Michael Parkes

    Excellent report. Well done Rick.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: