Classic News

Rick Morris scores Classic pole at Silverstone, Tim Harvey fifth

Rick Morris dominated qualifying for the first race of the BARC Luna Logistics Classic Formula Ford season with pole, just over half a second ahead of his nearest challenger, Jordan Harrison.

Morris led for the whole session in his Royale and saved his best for his final lap. He was the only driver to break the 90mph barrier this morning.

Following Morris will be a trio of Van Diemens: 2018 Class A champion Mark Armstrong will start from third in his RF80, ahead of Stuart Kestenbaum in his RF79 and 1992 BTCC champion Tim Harvey, in a RF81.

Harvey’s Van Diemen is his first-ever racing car, which he raced in the Champion of Brands series and the Formula Ford Festival in 1983, which he has now reacquired.

Both Harvey and Lola driver Harrison were warned over on-track conduct, although the session ran without incident.

Double champion racer and team owner John Village was sixth, ahead of Kevin Mansell and Tom Brown, who has now put his terrifying Walter Hayes Trophy accident behind him. He drove his Van Diemen RF79.

Adrian Reynard was ninth in his self-built Reynard 73FF, ahead of Paul Britten’s PRS. Reynard was the leading Class B driver.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 A Rick Morris Royale RP29 1:13.912
2 A Jordan Harrison Lola T504E +0.586
3 A Mark Armstrong Van Diemen RF80 +0.766
4 A Stuart Kestenbaum Van Diemen RF79 +0.932
5 A Tim Harvey Van Diemen RF81 +1.501
6 A John Village Crossle 25F +1.586
7 A Tom Brown Van Diemen RF79 +1.902
8 A Kevin Mansell Crossle 32F +1.937
9 B Adrian Reynard Reynard 73FF +1.982
10 A Paul Britten PRS 81F +2.386
11 A Steve Pearce Van Diemen RF81 +2.550
12 A Colin Williams PRS RH01 +2.959
13 A Paul Crosbie Van Diemen RF80 +3.324
14 A Oliver Chapman PRS RH01 +3.558
15 A David Malpas Van Diemen RF78 +3.759
16 A Simon Clews Royale RP24 +4.059
17 A Richard Yeomans Crossle 25F +4.771
18 A Terry Durdun Crossle 25F +7.073
19 A Martin Whitlock PRS RH02 +7.770
20 B Mchael Saunders Hawke DL11 +9.071
21 A Ben Hadfield Van Diemen RF78 +9.593
22 A Mark Harrison Lola T504E +12.060

0 comments on “Rick Morris scores Classic pole at Silverstone, Tim Harvey fifth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: