Champion of Brands News

Eastwell seals fourth consecutive Champion of Brands win

Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell secured his second win of the day in the TetraBoost Champion of Brands and his fourth consecutive victory in the series.

Polesitter Eastwell dominated to win by 2.6 seconds, despite having initially lost the lead to Maclennan at the start. The Scot completed a move into Druids on the opening lap to seize the advantage.

However, his lead was short-lived as Eastwell snapped back on the second lap. After reclaiming the lead, Eastwell proceeded to gradually extend the gap as the 15-minute race progressed – his advantage exaggerated when Maclennan was stung with a five-second penalty for exceeding track limits

KMR locked out the podium with Scottish Formula Ford regular Michael Macpherson finishing in third.

Starting at the back of the grid after having slid into the gravel and out of third place in race one, Macpherson vaulted to fourth on the opening lap after a blistering start.

A 10-minute long tussle for podium honours ensued as Jason Down attempted to repel Macpherson. The pair swapped places through Surtees and McLaren before Macpherson drove back ahead of Down on the Brabham Straight to secure third.

Down maintained a challenge until late in the race when a half-spin consigned him to fourth place.

Young Racing Driver Academy member Tommy Foster climbed from ninth on the grid to finish fifth, in what was only his fourth Formula Ford race.

Adam Fathers spun out of fifth place at McLaren at mid-distance while being harried by Kevin Bottomley. After struggling to find traction on the wet grass and losing considerable time, Fathers ended up seventh.

Walter Hayes Trophy finalist Jack Kemp was forced to retire from the race on the opening lap after mechanical gremlins struck his Ray.

Race results

Pos Driver Car Time
1 Michael Eastwell Spectrum 18 laps
2 Neil Maclennan Spectrum +7.660
3 Michael Macpherson Spectrum +24.393
4 Jason Down Getem Mygale +31.180
5 Tommy Foster Van Diemen +51.923
6 Kevin Bottomley Reynard +53.770
7 Adam Fathers Ray +1 lap
8 Innes Hickman Ray +1 lap
9 John Whitbourn Ray +1 lap
DNF Jack Kemp Ray +18 laps
Fastest lap: Eastwell, 50.974


0 comments on “Eastwell seals fourth consecutive Champion of Brands win

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: