News Walter Hayes Trophy

Moyers secures back-to-back Walter Hayes Trophy triumph

Michael Moyers has claimed back-to-back Walter Hayes Trophy wins after leading almost all of a madcap Grand Final run at Silverstone in damp conditions.

Moyers took the lead from poleman and fellow Kevin Mills Racing entrant Julian van der Watt at the start of what proved a topsy-turvy race.

Moyers from then on only relinquished the lead for a lap, when he ran wide at Brooklands at a third’s distance.

Joey Foster’s Firman got by his Spectrum but Moyers reclaimed the lead at the same corner next time by, passing Foster on the inside.

He retained the lead for the rest of the distance, despite close attention from runner-up Matt Cowley of Team Dolan, who risen from eighth on the grid.

Jordan Dempsey, another Kevin Mills runner in a Spectrum, was also close at hand in finishing third, attacking Cowley to the line.

There were several instances of cars leaving the track in the tricky conditions, particularly under braking at Brooklands at the end of the Wellington Straight.

Three-times Walter Hayes Trophy winner Foster finished fourth, having himself run wide at Brooklands at half-distance.

Chris Middlehurst finished fifth in his Van Diemen ahead of Luke Cooper’s Swift, who had struggled all weekend with a down-on-power engine.

Scottish FF1600 champion Ross Martin was seventh in his Graham Brunton Racing-run Ray, ahead of Josh Fisher’s Van Diemen.

Fisher had rapidly ascended from 27th on the grid, having suffered contact late in his semi-final which handed him a lowly grid slot for the final.

Michael Eastwell, another Spectrum Kevin Mills runner, started 22nd after engine problems in his semi-final but finished ninth. Thomas McArthur, another to have a Brooklands excursion, completed the top 10 in his Van Diemen.

Other fancied contenders to fall foul of the incident-strewn final included Ollie White in his Medina, who spun out at Luffield at two-thirds’ distance.

Cliff Dempsey Racing charge James Clarke had impressed throughout on his WHT debut but finished well adrift in 29th, after an early spin at Brooklands in his Ray which required the marshals to push him back into action.

Poleman van der Watt meanwhile had several excursions and instances of contact in his Spectrum, including being pushed into a spin. His day ended early when he was nudged into the gravel at Woodcote.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Time
1 Michael Moyers Spectrum 15 laps
2 Matthew Cowley Van Deimen +0.978
3 Jordan Dempsey Spectrum +1.273
4 Joey Foster Firman +2.159
5 Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +3.123
6 Luke Cooper Swift +3.895
7 Ross Martin Ray +4.135
8 Josh Fisher Van Diemen +4.437
9 Michael Eastwell Spectrum +4.719
10 Thomas McArthur Van Diemen +5.605
11 Rory Smith Medina +8.269
12 Colin Mullan Ray +9.051
13 Carter Williams Ray +9.568
14 Ivor McCullough Van Diemen +10.923
15 C Callum Grant Van Diemen +11.770
16 David McCullough Van Diemen +13.633
17 Cameron Fenton Van Diemen +17.770
18 Thomas Capezzone Swift +21.892
19 C Doug Crosbie Van Diemen +25.270
20 H Mark Armstrong Van Diemen +26.387
21 Lewis Fox Ray +36.036
22 Daniel O’Beirne Swift +37.071
23 Tom Hawkins Ray +38.331
24 H Rick Morris Royale +43.001
25 Peter Gillespie Spectrum +45.932
26 C Klaus Dieter Haeckel Van Diemen +46.369
27 George McDonald Van Diemen +47.080
28 Jack Kemp Ray +51.458
29 James Clarke Ray +55.428
DNF Josh Smith Van Diemen
DNF Nico Gruber Ray
DNF C Conor Murphy Mondiale
DNF Oliver White Medina
DNF Julian Van Der Watt Spectrum
DNF Roger Orgee Spectrum
DNF Jake Craig Ray
Fastest lap: Foster, 1:08.582

0 comments on “Moyers secures back-to-back Walter Hayes Trophy triumph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: