News Walter Hayes Trophy

White takes WHT Heat 6 pole after Festival rival Smith penalised

Oliver White took pole in a closely-fought session to claim pole for the final heat of the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone, after a penalty for Oldfield Motorsport’s Josh Smith.

Van Diemen driver Smith led the final four minutes of the 10-minute session, firstly hitting the top spot with a 1m02.618s and then improving on his next tour with a 1m02.350s.

That was a massive 0.4 seconds ahead of White, but the highly experienced Bath-based driver improved on his next two laps aboard his Medina, the gap came down to 0.112s at the flag.

However, Smith was later penalised for abusing track limits, losing his pole position and dropping to third on the grid, with White promoted to pole.

Cliff Dempsey Racing’s Nico Gruber snatched third away from Roger Orgee in the dying seconds, which became a front row start after Smith’s penalty.

The Austrian in the Ray was just 0.041s behind White and an even smaller 0.022s ahead of Orgee – the top four separated by less than two tenths.

Team USA scholar Colin Mullan was fifth, 0.228s away from pole, ahead of Cameron Fenton’s Van Diemen and Lewis Fox’s Ray.

Class C went the way of Stephane Lemeret in eighth overall, the experienced Belgian driver behind the wheel of the Van Diemen driven by Geoffrey Horion at the Formula Ford Festival two weeks ago.

Pascal Monbaron was ninth, splitting Lemeret and his nearest class rival and former touring car racer Thomas Johansson (Van Diemen), who completed the top ten overall.

Snetterton Speedshop owner and regular Mini racer Jonathan Lewis was the first and only Class H runner in 15th overall, driving a Van Diemen RF81.

Heat 6 will be the final race of the day’s action at Silverstone, starting at 16:00.

Qualifying results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Oliver White Medina +0.112
2 Nico Gruber Ray +0.153
3 Josh Smith Van Diemen 1:02.350*
4 Roger Orgee Spectrum +0.175
5 Collin Mullan Ray +0.403
6 Cameron Fenton Van Diemen +1.201
7 Lewis Fox Ray +1.588
8 C Stephane Lemeret Van Diemen +2.014
9 Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen +2.223
10 C Thomas Johansson Van Diemen +2.343
11 James Harvey Ray +2.381
12 C Paul Barnes Swift +2.712
13 C Andrew Higginbottom Van Diemen +2.780
14 C Mark De Rozarieux Van Diemen +2.846
15 H Jonathon Lewis Van Diemen +3.843
16 C Matthew Gillbanks Swift +5.998

* Smith penalised two positions for breaching track limits

0 comments on “White takes WHT Heat 6 pole after Festival rival Smith penalised

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: