News Walter Hayes Trophy

Rory Smith holds off Craig to win intense WHT Heat 5

Rory Smith took a lights-to-flag victory in an intense Heat 5 for the Walter Hayes Trophy on Silverstone’s National circuit.

Smith, who took his first Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 championship wins at Donington Park last month, made a good getaway from pole position and went on to lead his closest challenger Jake Craig for the entire eight lap duration.

This was despite immense pressure from Team USA scholar Craig, who put his Cliff Dempsey Racing-run Ray around the outside of Smith’s B-M Racing Medina at Brooklands on multiple occasions.

An attempt on the opening lap was unsuccessful, as the circuit closes up for the next right-hander at Luffield. This led to Craig losing ground, having to also fend off the attentions of Joey Foster’s Firman right behind.

A further effort in the closing stages very nearly resulted in contact, and from there Smith had just enough to hold on over the remaining two laps.

Foster was a constant presence in third but couldn’t make a move himself; the top three were covered by a mere 0.272s at the flag, with David McArthur’s Van Diemen a further second back, finishing in a quiet fourth.

Even quieter was Callum Grant’s race. The Class C victor finished fifth overall but nearly seven seconds behind McArthur, and some six seconds ahead of Jason Down’s Getem.

Neil Broome and Logan Hannah were a close seventh and eighth in their Rays, ahead of Maxime Lebreton – who was also second in Class C – and Class H winner Westie Mitchell (Merlyn Mk20).

Sam Street spun his Swift 92F at Brooklands on his way to finishing 11th. All 16 starters finished the race.

Race results

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Rory Smith Medina 8 laps
2 Jake Craig Ray +0.152
3 Joey Foster Firman +0.272
4 David McArthur Van Diemen +1.284
5 C Callum Grant Van Diemen +7.779
6 Jason Down Getem +14.336
7 Neil Broome Ray +17.170
8 Logan Hannah Ray +18.072
9 C Maxime Lebreton Van Diemen +26.362
10 H Westie Mitchell Merlyn +31.111
11 C Samuel Street Swift +31.428
12 C Chris Davison Van Diemen +33.571
13 C Eric Moulinet Van Diemen +35.289
14 C Graham Woodin Van Diemen +43.326
15 Hayden Hardyman Ray +44.563
16 C Claire Greig Van Diemen +45.340
17 H Damian Ditchfield Van Diemen +1:03.256
Fastest lap: Foster, 1:02.401

0 comments on “Rory Smith holds off Craig to win intense WHT Heat 5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: