BRSCC Festival News

Robinson takes Masters race victory after late entry

Noel Robinson / Tom McArthur - Van Diemen - 2018 Formula Ford Festival - Masters Race - Brands Hatch

Late-entrant Noel Robinson won the Masters race at the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch, taking his Van Diemen from row seven of the grid to victory.

Tom McArthur was second, also driving a Van Diemen, while Ivor McCullough took his similar car to third from 20th and last on the grid.

Northern Irishman Robinson only entered the race after retiring from his heat in the main event yesterday when a plug lead came loose, so had not set a qualifying time.

Robinson made rapid progress to fifth, then passed Stuart Kestenbaum’s Pre-1972 Crossle 16F for fourth at Paddock Hill Bend on the third lap of 15, and drove around the outside of Sam Street for third at the same corner a lap later.

Contact between race-leader Henry Chart and the chasing McArthur at Druids on lap four left Chart out of the race and promoted Robinson further. He then chased down McArthur and took the lead soon after half-distance.

Robinson attempted another outside move at Paddock Hill Bend, which McArthur resisted, but Robinson was able to cut back and complete the move into Druids.

From there, Robinson pulled away to win by two seconds, while McArthur managed to remain clear of McCullough who was only a second behind at the flag. McCullough was another late entry after gearbox issues forced him to retire from his heat.

Street’s Swift was fourth, while Kestenbaum won his class in fifth. Jim Campbell was the leading Pre-1990 runner in 13th.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P89 Noel Robinson Van Diemen 13m07.013
2 P89 Tom McArthur Van Diemen +2.054
3 P89 Ivor McCollough Van Diemen +3.239
4 P89 Sam Street Swift +9.362
5 P72 Stuart Kestenbaum Crossle +20.664
6 P89 Dan Rene Larsen Van Diemen +23.269
7 P89 Steve Barlow Ray +23.938
8 P89 Thomas Johansson Van Diemen +27.980
9 P89 Derek Daly Van Diemen +30.767
10 P89 Fraser Gray Ray +33.894
11 P72 Steve Greenwood Beattie +49.120
12 P89 Flashman Finneran Van Diemen +51.857
13 P90 Jim Campbell Mondial 1 Lap
14 P89 Simon Pruce Ray 1 Lap
15 P82 Philip Attwood Crossle 1 Lap
DNF P89 Stuart Gough Van Diemen
DNF P89 Henry Chart Van Diemen
DNF P89 Gary Sykes Ray
DNF P89 Terry Walkingshaw Van Diemen
DNF P89 Pascal Monbaron Van Diemen

0 comments on “Robinson takes Masters race victory after late entry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: