Historic News

Jackson wins thrilling three-way fight at Silverstone

Cameron Jackson / Ben Mitchell - Lola T200 / Jamun T2 - HSCC Historic Formula Ford - Silverstone

Cameron Jackson won the final HSCC Formula Ford race of the year by the tiniest of margins, having been part of a thrilling battle with Richard Tarling and Ben Mitchell.

Lola T200 driver Jackson wrapped up the championship yesterday but he was as competitive as ever, as were Tarling in his Jamun T2 and Mitchell in the Merlyn Mk20. The three swapped positions at the front throughout, with Jackson having to fight back somewhat in the early laps after dropping to third from pole.

Tarling was the fastest starter and initially led.

Callum Grant, in his orange Merlyn, was very much in the mix in the race’s early stages. He led the second lap before Jackson retook the lead with an aggressive move at Brooklands. Grant continued to challenge and stayed with the leading group until lap 10 of 14, when he sunk down the order and had to retire.

It was at about this time that Mitchell really made his presence felt. He had been duelling with Ben Tusting’s Merlyn for fourth, but he managed to make a move stick to take third. At this point, the top three were side by side and the top five were hard to separate.

Tarling led for much of the latter part of the race, but Jackson just managed to pip him on the line by six-thousandths of a second, while Mitchell was only three-hundredths behind in third. Less than a second covered the top five at the chequered flag.

Gislain Genecand was fourth, having steadily worked his way up from tenth on the grid in his Crossle. He was up with the leading trio and won the Radio Caroline Over 50s class, ahead of Clive Richards’s Merlyn, which was sixth. Tusting, having remained close to the leaders for most of the race, was fifth.

Image courtesy of Dan Bichener

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 Cameron Jackson Lola T200 15m15.079
2 Richard Tarling Jamun T2 +0.006
3 Ben Mitchell Merlyn MK20 +0.031
4 OF Gislain Genecand Crossle 16F +0.655
5 Benjamin Tusting Merlyn MK20A +0.735
6 OF Clive Richards Merlyn MK20 +6.535
7 Dan Eagling Merlyn MK20 +6.610
8 OF Ted Pearson Merlyn MK11/17 +6.925
9 Ross Drybrough Merlyn MK20AS +8.116
10 OF Brian Morris Lola T200 +17.185

0 comments on “Jackson wins thrilling three-way fight at Silverstone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: