BRSCC Festival News

Festival Last Chance Race: Marzorati wins after Radermecker penalty

Max Marzorati - 2018 Formula Ford Festival - Last Chance Race - Brands Hatch

Swift Cooper’s Max Marzorati booked a place in the Formula Ford Festival final after winning the last chance shootout, inheriting the win after Vincent Radermecker was penalised.

Marzorati started the eight-lap race from pole position but was down to fourth position by Paddock Hill Bend.

He then made his way past Ryan Campbell’s Reynard at the halfway point, before passing Michael MacPherson late on.

However, his pass on MacPherson would not move him any places in the results, as both he and Old School Racing’s Radermecker were deemed to have jumped the start – awarding both a 10-second time penalty.

The result of this is that both drivers missed out on the final.

Ryan Campbell took second, ahead of John Svensson who rounded off the podium.

Jason Down made his way into the final after many attempts at trying – despite telling FFord 1600 Website earlier in the day that he was playing his chances down.

Gary Sykes took fifth (after adjusted times for penalties) ahead of Matthew Chisholm, the latter dropping a few places at the start. All of the top six will fill the final three rows of the Final race.

Ivor McCollough was a late call-up to the race, and narrowly missed out on the final after finishing in eighth place after starting right at the back.

Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst was the fastest car on the track, and finished ninth despite starting at the back and spinning off at Paddock Hill Bend on the opening lap.

Rick Morris, Henry Chart (after damage sustained in the Masters race), Mark Armstrong, and Adriano Medeiros did not take the start.

Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P89 Max Marzorati Swift 7m05.450
2 P90 Ryan Campbell Reynard +0.006
3 P89 John Svensson Van Diemen +0.031
4 P89 Jason Down Mygale +0.655
5 P89 Gary Sykes Ray +0.735
6 P89 Matthew Chisholm Van Diemen +6.535
7 P90 Conor Murphy Mondiale +6.610
8 P89 Ivor McCullough Van Diemen +6.925
9 P89 Chris Middlehurst Van Diemen +8.116
10 P89 Jack Kemp Ray +17.185

Craig Woollard is a motorsport journalist who works full-time in the Motorsport Images archive. He shares strong opinions on a wide range of subjects within the sport, while also making use of statistical analysis. His other interests include food, hot drinks, sim racing, music and gaming.

0 comments on “Festival Last Chance Race: Marzorati wins after Radermecker penalty

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: