BRSCC Festival News

Festival Heat 3 Quali: Eastwell secures pole with weekend’s fastest time

Michael Eastwell - Kevin Mills Racing - 2018 Formula Ford Festival - Brands Hatch - Testing

Michael Eastwell will begin the third Formula Ford 1600 Festival heat from pole after edging Matt Round-Garrido in qualifying at Brands Hatch.

Eastwell had been dicing with the Irish champion throughout the session, which was curtailed by a final red flag to deny a last-lap shootout.

Round-Garrido was the first to set the pace in his Medina Sport JL17 run by Team Dolan, but the Spectrum-bound Eastwell kept him honest throughout.

The pair traded the quickest times on the dusty Brands Indy circuit, as a result of cement being put down for oil on the track earlier in the day.

Rory Smith was the first to encounter trouble, running wide at Paddock which resulted in him needing to pit to remove gravel.

Alan Davidson had an off at Surtees shortly after to end his session in the Mondiale M89S and bring out the yellow flags.

Once the yellow flags were rescinded, Round-Garrido cut 0.5s out of his time, just being pipped by Eastwell.

Henry Chart beached his Van Diemen MS13K at Paddock with two minutes remaining to bring out the red-flag and then the chequered, which curtailed the opportunity for a final flying lap shootout.

Eastwell finished the session with a 50.173s lap – the fastest time so far this weekend, 0.232s quicker than the last gasp efforts of multiple Heritage race winner Oliver White’s Medina.

Behind it was much closer; White, Round-Garrido in third and fourth-fastest Colin Mullan (Ray GR11) all finishing within 0.002s of each other.

A tricky session for three-time festival winner Joey Foster resulted in fifth.

Castle Combe champion Luke Cooper suffered from recurring engine issues which left him eighth quickest, 0.574s off Eastwell’s pole time.

Those issues forced Cooper to prematurely end his weekend after the qualifying session.


Pos Class Driver Car Gap
1 P89 Michael Eastwell Spectrum 50.173
2 P89 Oliver White Medina Sport +0.232
3 P89 Matt Round-Garrido Medina Sport +0.233
4 P89 Colin Mullan Ray +0.234
5 P89 Joey Foster Firman +0.339
6 P89 Rory Smith Medina +0.346
7 P89 David McCullough Van Diemen +0.475
8 P89 Luke Cooper Swift +0.574
9 P89 Henry Chart Van Diemen +0.720
10 P89 Jason Down Getem Mygale +1.038

0 comments on “Festival Heat 3 Quali: Eastwell secures pole with weekend’s fastest time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: